What life throws at us

We are hitting that part of the year that things are very busy at work. Things you then do not need:

  • Hip/backache – somehow I got my hip/back into a tizzy. Serves me right for doing pilates when my back already is not feeling 100%. Painful but I managed on 4 paracetamol in total – I did do yoga in the morning (gently) but no additional walking or sports.
  • Car breakdown – yes the car started shaking etc. SO got it to the garage and it was not the obvious thing (the spark plug) so we are car-less this weekend
  • Huge request for a tender – I had to write it in a day and have to work on it over the weekend. If it wasn’t for the fact that it would make me all my year targets in one go I think I would have said, not enough time. Which would be 100% the truth.

But life never is all bad. Things you do need and are also happening in part because of the above:

  • Being car-less means we can’t do anything too much or really have to think it through – actually not that bad an existence for a few days. It means we are having a nice simple weekend at home. Forced, but why not enjoy it to the fullest?
  • The back-thing makes me think and listen to my body again. So it needs rest. Why resist? Accept and enjoy what the rest is doing for you.
  • The tender – my boss is entrusting me with something huge and both she and her boss are pulling their weight too. They make me feel that in the end it is a team effort. The fact that she does trust me is very rewarding in itself. It makes me feel proud of myself.
  • It is October – the sun is shining as if it were summer, temperatures are wonderful and skies are blue. What is there not to like?
  • SO is getting better. His ribs are almost back to normal. He looks more relaxed because of it. That is wonderful to see.
  • I finished SO’s scarf for the second time. This time it rolls less (thanks Miekje) and is actually nicer.

Yes, life sometimes is not what you planned it to be. But I try to look at the positives and not let the bad take over. Sure there is a little more stress involved than I would like at present. But I know it is only for a few weeks. As Galadriel said in the LOTR: “This too shall pass.”

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Stuff, Weekend, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What life throws at us

  1. I love your positivity! 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks. Looking at things from a positive perspective is sometimes harder, but I find more rewarding. I don’t always succeed, but it is what I am trying to do.

  2. You are so right! I have been trying really hard to look at everything in a positive perspective. Thank you so much for reminding me to do so 🙂

  3. miekje says:

    You are welcome! I hope to see a picture of it sometime :-). I am sure your SO will be very happy to have such a lovely souvenir of your NZ trip to wear when autumn finally does hit in full force.

    • Gilraen says:

      Yup, it is drying right now. Will take a picture.
      SO wrapped it around his neck to show off. Had to take it off quickly – temperatures are really too high for a merino scarf at present 🙂

  4. Emily says:

    Oh, lord, TENDERS. I remember when my job involved those. Glad to see that you had some down time in the sun later.

    • Gilraen says:

      They are very very stressful yes. Specifically if circumstances make that you can’t talk to the right people because they happen to be at a meeting in India!

  5. Pingback: Weekend wrap up. | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

