High tea

Today was the day that I went out with my SIL to have a high tea at a local place. It had taken us 6 months to plan this day. Schedules simply refused to line up for months. So 6 months ago we agreed this to be the day.

It is wonderful to have a SIL you can talk to, have fun with and understands the family dynamics. We agree on many things. We both agree for instance that we got the best brother of the two – marvelous isn’t it?

Anyway I had made reservation for the high tea. I arrived first. We were seated in the patio as requested. In a corner under a huge plant, squashed between a pillar, wall and another table. Easily the worst seat in the patio. I was not impressed and I called the waiter on it. I made it crystal clear that with a reservation a week old (and I was the second reservation only) I expected better than the squashed-in-the-corner-nobody-wants-to-sit-here-left-over-table where we were seated. A thousand apologies but other people other parties etc etc all excuses and then some. But that was that. My SIL arrived and I apologised for the poor seating arrangements. She actually agreed it was not a good spot to be seated.  I think the proprietor overheard me apologising and her agreeing with me. As soon as a table was free it was placed under reservation for us and we moved to the other table. Much nicer, in the light under the glass ceiling, where I’d wanted to sit.

The tea itself was OK. Nothing special but nice enough, yet not something I would go back for as a special treat. However spending time with my SIL without my nieces and without our respective, much loved partners was wonderful. We talked about everything, commiserated some and had some great laughs. We really enjoyed it and we will be repeat this. We both think that we will need to pull out our diaries soon for scheduling a meet up in 6 months time. But I think every 6 months or so I will enjoy a cup of tea with my SIL.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Food, Home life, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

