I said no

A few days back my management course from last year that finished this year decided that it was time for a reunion. This was the third time. The first two times I was on a holiday, hence an easy way out. Now, as you all know I did not have the best of time with these people and quite honestly I did not really feel that I wanted to spend my precious weekend with them.

So after much soul searching and conversations with myself I resisted the well brought up girl that thinks I ought to and turned the invitation down. It is not that I dislike the people individually really. It is more a case of they are not my friends and I’d rather spend time with my real and chosen friends. I often see so little of them anyway.

Part of me thinks badly about feeling this way, but part of me also feels liberated for doing so. So on that note I am sending out a few invitations to some people that I feel much closer to and really want to see. For some of you I would love to send you such an invitation but you are simply a hemisphere away, so I apologise. Love to see you all, but it will have to wait a bit 🙂

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Friends, Home life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I said no

  1. dragonstrand says:

    Guilt is a useless emotion. Embrace your liberation and always listen to your inner daimon–it will lead to places you never dreamed were possible.

    • Gilraen says:

      Guilt is not a useless emotion, if it was it would have left us a long time ago. Also feeling badly about saying no is not always guilt. In this case it wasn’t 🙂
      BTW what is a daimon?

      • dragonstrand says:

        Certainly guilt has it uses . . . for those who need it–and there are plenty who do. For others, however, who live in a different way–let us say “beyond good and evil”–it becomes useless, like a vestigial organ.

        Daimon is difficult to translate from Latin/Greek–but it is a kind of guiding spirit or “voice” within oneself (some call it a “guarding spirit”) that prevents one from doing certain things or conversely inspires one to do certain things (quite often things that superficially and conventionally seem “strange” or “against the norm”, or “not in one’s best interests”). Socrates claimed to have a lifelong daimon. Many artists of the past spoke of being “possessed” by a daimon in their creative endeavors.

  2. draliman says:

    Sometimes I find myself doing things I don’t really want to do, because I feel I ought to, or it’s my duty to do it. Good for you for beating that feeling, and for having the courage to decide to spend your time with the people you really wanted to be with instead!

    My take on “guilt” – I think we need it to remind us we’ve done something wrong and not to do it again (though we probably will!), but in this case I feel it would be misplaced. You did what was right for you.

    • Gilraen says:

      That is much more along the lines how I see it and how I felt it. It was simply a case of feeling bad, because it is a case of I ought to, and it takes some time to adjust your social duty dogma.
      I am not doing anything wrong so no guilt over it was felt.

  3. Pingback: Just pondering a course | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

