A walk

Still sniffly but I am getting there. Feeling a little better every day. On Monday I ran into a co-worker outside the building and she asked why I had not called in sick. Well because I am not sick, that is why. I have a cold and with a lot of handkerchiefs and some paracetamol I am quite OK. In fact because I was not thinking too clearly I got a lot of the more mundane, boring and but bulky work done.

What seemed to have helped greatly is that I picked myself up again and walked to work on Tuesday through a huge amount of rain. Just walking, clearing my head, getting the blood running has made a difference. I felt so much better coming home.  I also noticed it this Sunday when we went for a beachwalk with my parents and their dog. After an hour in the sea air I felt more clear in my head but I was not the only one.

Their dog, a Labrador, is getting old. She is 8 or 9 now and her eyesight is not what it used to be. She is the sweetest thing on four paws you’ll ever encounter. She is really something. This aging dog had never in her life been to the beach. So when we got there, with about 10,000 other people she was a little bit taken aback. Where is the path? Is this all path. How fun. And then she discovered the sea and all these friendly dogs to play with. All of a sudden the puppy in her took over and she was running everywhere, jumping into the sea, playing, and so clearly having fun. After about an hour her age caught up with her and she was really tired. But really to see her play and be so utterly happy was fun to see.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Home life, Weekend and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

