Prejudice?

Today I walked to and from work. I do that on a regular basis and I love it. It takes just under an hour each way and it clears my head, either from sleep or from work.

This morning I noticed that when I left the house that it was cold and still pitch dark, yet when I arrived at work the day had started. I had walked through the day dawning and I really really liked it.

On my way back it was sunny and a bit warm. I said a bit. So the next thing I hear is this music blaring out of the speakers from a car coming up from behind. I expect to see a boy on his way to become a man, too much testosterone pumped into a beaten up old car and a beat box in the back. I turn around and see it is a convertable. Actually a big one, a new one. When mr musicman is close enough I notice that I was correct. It is a person with male genetic makeup. However his age is closer to that of my father than that of my husband. He is balding and greying and sitting in this car thinking he is actually looking cool. In fact he looks as a man desperately trying to hold on to dreams of boyhood.I had to laugh.

And as if it was not enough to see my prejudice shattered once, it actually was followed by another man climbing out of his music filled wee convertible with age-related-difficulty that made me shake my head about what a ray of sunshine in autumn can do to people. I am also glad to report that the third car with windows open and blaring music on did fully fit in with my prejudice.

So you see prejudice may have something to do with reality but reality may be quite different from what your prejudice tells you.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Stuff, Weekend, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

