An All Black Weekend

Watching rugby is always exciting and for me when the All Blacks play I feel I am in for a treat. This weekend there was going to be no escape for anybody knowing anything about rugby. 10am SO and I were sitting in front of the TV (yes live on Dutch TV *gasp*) with crap commentary – you have to explain every rule to the Dutch) but on the large screen watching the match of the year. Rugby finals Worldcup 2011.

SO, my Kiwi by Proxy, had projected that the ABs would trash France. I was not 100% convinced of that. ABs are fantastic but a crowd that expected the world cup, and France, for all their bad play in the tournament, are generally taller and more agile vs the ABs pure technique and bulldozer strength.

I would describe the finals as nail biting, tense, scary and just about the most emotional 95 minutes since the football final in 2010. Second half. It got to 7-8. I was slowly dying, watching the clock instead of the game. Nerves completely wrecked. The game at that stage was all about defense for the ABs and they did well. Their bulldozer capabilities were the part that got them through. France was really doing everything it could. It was amazing rugby. I was by that stage either on the toilet or hiding behind SO but barely watching. My hands were shaking I was so utterly tense so when the final whistle blew it all came out cheering even some tears. New Zealand World Champions 2011!!!!!!!   I was so happy and so in agreement with my friend L. who texted me and said  “Heart attack material, I need a Whiskey” For her it was only 10.30 am at that stage :-). My KBP did say he wants to go and see the ABs in England for the next Worldcup. So we’ll see if we can get tickets then 😉

We were going for pancake material but as the adrenaline needed to go somewhere we decided to go for a run/bike in the sunshine instead. SO ran in his AB shirt, which I love him for. Lovely to see how he not only understands my love for New Zealand, but is giving it his own spin as well. Now it is bath then pancakes. After all we need to celebrate the AB win with a NZ breakfast.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Home life, Sports, Weekend and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An All Black Weekend

  1. Anonymous says:

    You got it! NZ won by the skin of their teeth and even if this one was not their best rugby, the ABs were the only team that didn’t loose a game throughout the RWC. So they did deserve to win.

Leave a Reply

