Crafty me

Yesterday I had a little me-day. Every so often I take a day off and have some me time. Yesterday I spent it with a co-worker. We have craft in common. She is very much a knitter and is trying all kinds of things. I have taken up knitting again. So off we went together to the craft fair. This is not where you buy the craft stuff others make, but buy supplies for your own craft.

There is very little sewing there (well quilting is there) but lots of cross stitch, knitting, stuff, things and doodles. So many things I would want and knwing I don’t have the time to do it all. So I resisted a lot, but not everything.

I bought a packet to make two adorable little puppets for my nieces of zwarte piet. The idea is that SO gives them in his guise of Sinterklaas. I have a month to make them so it is my mission in the next few weeks. I still have enough wool, so in order to not do the fabric build up I resisted. But I did buy one of the kaalund yarns to try my hand at lace knitting at some stage (5-year project). I also bought some cable-stitch pens, locking stitch markers and a latch hook (for rugmaking).

My co-worker fell hard for a cross stitch pattern. As she had never done it before and she fell of course for a not too easy package with several colours red and orange. I persuaded her to buy a really small one to try first and get the feel. I am glad she did listen. She also bought the most amazing yarn, for a shrug for her sister and some other bits and bobs.

It was a fun day together and it tickled my creativity again. I mean spinning, weaving, colouring, felting etc all that sort of stuff I really really do not have time for, but intrigue me as well. Better get going on my cross stitch first again though. Enough to do still.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Friends, Home life, shopping, Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Crafty me

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Sounds like a dream day. I’m not really a knitter, but I do enjoy sewing (I sew my own jewellery – long story). I am however knitting bootees for a colleague expecting her first baby in December – I would have to say it’s touch and go at the moment. I really admire folk that can knit. Like your ‘Me Day’ idea – might have to take a leaf out of your book 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      You should show some of your jewellery on your blog. Chance are Miekje will like that too. A me day is pure indulgence and energising. It is a little holiday to what I want.

  2. Sounds like a fabulous day! 🙂

  3. Robin says:

    I’ve been wanting to learn how to knit. I crochet, but have never tried knitting. My daughter-in-law and I have decided to learn together.

    Your Me Day sounds like fun. 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      Knitting is not that hard, and I think your DIL and you will have great fun learning.
      I am going to try my hand at broomstick lace crochet and now have found the inspiration to start a new knitting project.

  4. Pingback: Not my new hobby | Gilraensblog

  5. Pingback: Day with mum | Gilraensblog

  6. Pingback: Knitting | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

