Almost there

I don’t know what it is about christmas. It seems that it is always far far away, until about two weeks before and all of a sudden time will fly. All of a sudden at work you are scrambling to get all work done, yet your brain already is in festivity mode, because of all pre-christmas celebrations. This year for us is no exception.

After our interesting tiring weekend in Wageningen we went out tree-shopping on Sunday. There’s an idea about a gazillion other people had too. After trying a few places we decided enough was enough and just went in with the huge crowd. We got ourselves a nice tree and some more bits to put in. On Monday we we took the decorations to the floor where they needed to be and on Tuesday the tree became a true Christmastree. Gold/brown this year again.

On Wednesday one of my clients retired. Her party of course needed to be attended. More worrying I knew about half the people there. We do move in the same circles. She’d invited me and a co-worker to her farewell dinner. We had a good time that evening but as it was in Almere my co-worker and I did not get home until around midnight. SO was already in bed, but waiting for me to go to sleep. As much as I loved him and wanted to tell him stuff, I admit I collapsed and slept.

The next day my co-worker and I totally agreed that Thursday was a lost day. Both of us had extreme difficulties getting the brain back into motion. By the time it did it was time to leave and attend the next thing. The traditional Christmas concert. We’d been there before but the last few years the timing had not been right. This time it was. Honestly the concert was not as good as the one in 2007, but it was very enjoyable. We, well I, had fun singing along in the sing-along songs. The atmosphere is was simply fun.

It was not as cold as it was then. But this time we were not seated in the church benches-with-the-feet-heating-plate. We had chairs, closer to the front, but also a lot colder on the feet. So while the general temperature was not bad, we did end up with blocks of ice where our feet usually are. Nothing a hot water bottle can’t handle but still.

Just one more week until Christmas comes along. Just one more week of running around like a headless chicken I think. But you know, then we have three weeks off. We need it.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Decisions, Home life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Almost there

  1. Robin says:

    Enjoy your three weeks off. I think everyone needs some downtime after the holidays. 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      Oh yes, holidays are quite tiring. Thinking of going into hibernation. It most certainly is the season for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

