Another christmas dress

This christmas I will be dressed completely by me. Two dresses all made by me. I am very very proud of my endeavors. The first one I reviewed before The second one was more difficult than the first on but very worth it.

Pattern Description:A fifties style dress from Burdastyle. The dress has princess seams and partially cut on sleeves. It makes that it is a a little different than usual to put together. The Shawl collar is wonderful and an elegant touch

Pattern Sizing: Top part 36/38, bottom part 42/44

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes they were, but once again with Burda read carefully and more importantly before you start sewing. Not when things have turned to custard

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Classic pattern, Stylish and simple clean lines. However not a simple dress. Somehow the pattern immediately told me that I needed to make the dress as it just has my name on it. So my style.

Fabric Used: A interesting wool that I bought at the stoffenspektakel this year, the purple woolblend that M was so much help on choosing with me The stuff was remarkably easy to work with, except when having to unpick seams.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Plenty of course. The top and bottom part needed to be done in different sizes. The body I shortened by 1/2 cm to allow for my short waist. The trick was to do it exactly in the same spot on all six. The shawl is slightly shorter by 5 cm than indicated. Simply as I did not have enough fabric. The latter was due to the fact that I had lengthened the dress by 10 cm. At present I am finding most dresses a little short for me. I know a little longer suits me better. In the end 7cm would have sufficed.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, oh yes. It is a great dress for colour blocking and it is one of the things that I am considering to make in the future. After I have finished the next gazzilion other projects that are raging in my head wanting to come out. But two shades of grey or more grey and pink blocking I think would be nice. Black and white would be wonderful, but would not suit me at all. Not my colourscheme.

Conclusion: Love this dress. Really proud as it is a three dot dress that I made without my teachers help. SO was extremely helpful in his feedback. When it comes to solutions to sewing issues………well he tries and he is helpful, but my teacher is better ๐Ÿ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Holiday, Home life, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another christmas dress

  1. miekje says:

    very, very beautiful! I am quite jealous of your talents ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks ;-). I am very sure that you could do just as well. It is just a case of trying. Now your jewelry on the other hand that is something that is truly amazing.

  2. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Wonderful – and yes, the colour looks great on you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Hello there. I just popped in to say I’ve nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award. Congrats. You can find out more info via this link.

    http://maturestudenthanginginthere.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/well-a-surprise-before-christmas/

Leave a Reply

