Brain is getting fried

Nearly there, nearly holidays. SO already has already started his and is such a darling that he is doing all the shopping for dinner. He is also trying some new things we want to serve our 9 guests (yeah cooking for 11 on christmas day) and I have to admit it is really good what he is making!

Me? I am just trying to keep it all together and not to collapse just before due time. Still having meetings and stuff to go through while the office is already emptying out. Some days I really really do not get going at all. Other days I get so much still done. But I am noticing that things in my head are starting to become more custardy.

Just yesterday, in my usual fashion I left home at 18.50 to go to my sewing class. I arrived to a completely dark place. It took my brain a minute to register that this is unexpected. Then I decide in a massive brainwave to call my sewingbuddy M. She told me “teacher had an operation this week remember?” Oh heavens yes now, under all that custard I find some little blob of information that this is correct and that she cancelled the class because of it. So there I was. At my class, a little cold and feeling rather stupid. Well said M. You are more than welcome to come over and we’ll sew together. So I did.

Not that any sewing happened. Just some Knip reading, but no sewing. I had been attending class so infrequently due to work travel that we really needed to have a good old yep to catch up what was going on. Her exams, and general stuff. Somehow this was really cool to do and I went home feeling much better.

Just one more day to go. All my end of year stuff in nearly done (just time sheets to go) and then it is three weeks of no work and relaxing (well after christmas). Not a moment too soon.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Food, Holiday, Home life, Sewing, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brain is getting fried

  1. It’s a good feeling to finish work. I finish tomorrow and thankfully we are having a small Christmas this year so I’m not cooking for too many. It sounds as though you have lots to do, but I’m sure it will be worth it and having lots of people around on the day can be fun – even if it is hard work. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

