Just because it is christmas

Yesterday I was nominated for the Kreativ Blogger award by Jaqueline. She is a regular reader of my blog (and I of hers). I have mentioned her before. She is one feisty, strong and above all caring person.

While I really do appreciate the thought and really like receiving it, I am not going to pass it on the way it was intented. Instead I am looking using it differently (Kreatively?) to get some attention to some of my newly discovered blogs and what I have in common with them to share some about myself.

Fireflyphil had this on his blog ” State your ultimate Christmas song!” His blog I started following because of the name. After all Firefly is is one of my most loved TV shows. It is when I really got to admire Nathan Fillion and it is because of him that I started to watch Castle. Anyway my favourite christmas song: Do they know it’s christmass by Band Aid. It may be corny but it bellows along wonderfully and really it is not the type of christmas you usually hear about. It is not the better than life innocent tune, it is raw, it is real and to me says so much about the giving spirit of christmas. Nicky at typecast that challenged firefly phil agreed with me.

The viking and his kitten so happily tell us about their travels that I actually would like to join them. I just wish I were not such a workaholic and do the travels they do :-). I love travel, but getting started and deciding where to go is a huge hurdle. SO and I have decided we are just really bad at having holidays so we should work on that.

What SO and I do love is food. I mean my blog mentions it often. We like to cook. One of the blogs I like is eat and be happy. The title simply resonates. But some of the recipes are on the agenda for being used. I just love it.

What I have in common with A year of living wisely is the search to inner peace and rest. I recall during my course last year that somebody told me that they found me restless. I accepted that. At the time I did not really know what I wanted with my career, with myself and while I always search for inner peace, I am a workaholic and find it incredibly hard to be idle. I just need to keep busy, yet am kinda lazy. I call it a diesel disposition. Hard to get going but once it is going it does not stop. Yoga and mediation for me too have been real lifechanging for the better. Though in winter getting up at 6.15 to start yoga does require perseverance (only missed once, when I was staying in a not too clean hotel in Paris). Another searching soul can be found at the silent soul. A lot reminds me of me at that age. The searching, the wishing and still hanging in there and not letting stuff get you down.

Somebody that cracks me up is girl on the contrary. She and I seem to share a similar sens of humour. She also tends to look at things from a different perspective and it is something people tell me I do too. May well be that this is one of the reasons why I like it so much.

I have made the Kreativ side of me deal with the award appropriately πŸ™‚

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Feelings, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just because it is christmas

  1. Thank you for mentioning http://cosytravels.wordpress.com πŸ™‚ Unfortunately, we have a small car with a lot of luggage, so I am afraid that there is no space in the car for you 😦 Anyway, I wish you Happy Holidays and a lot of travel experiences in 2012!

    • Gilraen says:

      You are welcome. I enjoy reading your blog. I will travel in 2012, and have done in 2011. Just a lot of it has been for work and that is just not the same as for a holiday. First we’ll have to see how SO’s new project works out before we can plan more.
      At this stage a small cottage in the Scottish Highlands sounds like bliss to me, but we’ll see

Leave a Reply

