Happy news is here again

Christmas is now finally truly over. Yesterday we had dinner at my in-laws on third christmas day. It was the only way we could have a full dinner with SO’s full family.

My nieces (2 and 4) were only there for the late afternoon. In the evening their mother returned them home where the other grandmother would babysit. This was we could have a nice family dinner, without the girls getting too tired and with it too attention grabbing. It also allowed a dinner with adult conversation. Something SO and I truly appreciated.

There was great news SIL is going to be my official SIL soon. She and BIL are getting married this year. Date is undecided, but they are going to make it official.  As they’ve been together for nigh on 20 years, living together for over 12 the fact that they are doing the marriage thing was a real surprise. SO and I think we infected them with the marriage bug :-). For 2012 this is wedding #2 on the list (friends will also get married). More sewing fun to come I think.

Dinner was nice and simple. Started with smoked ribeye carpaccio filled with herbs, from S-and-BIL, followed by boeuf bourguignon by MIL and we did desert this dinner. Lemon/basil sorbet on a classic lemon tart. The lemon tart I’d made the day before. SO loved the look and smell of it. He really really wanted to taste it and I would not let him. The tart looked way too pretty to cut it before dinner. Given his insistence on wanting to taste it I assumed it was a good one. Given the responses at dinner it was :-).

For now we are still relaxing and not doing too much. Later today life will start up slowly again. For now life is bliss.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family, Food, Holiday, Home life, Wedding and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy news is here again

  1. Pingback: Another lovely wedding | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

