2011 in review

2011 was a good year for me. I know that is has been a year that many people wish to forget and that the economic crisis is hitting a fair number of people. However for us it has been good.

For 2011 on the agenda I had; Finishing my course, New Zealand (honeymoon), Korea (work), more sewing, more yoga, more time with friends and more me time. I am happy to note that I achieved all of them. Not always to the extend that I would have loved but I did do all. Specifically the yoga and the sewing have taken a real flight in my life. With having sewn both my dresses for christmas the icing on the cake. I do admit that a fair few of the changes have been due to my much loathed management course. It brought on a lot off stress and I really hated most of it, but it has been very good in that it has allowed me to find myself and I appreciate me for who and what I am. It, together with SO, has given me contentment with and acceptance of me.

Sure we have had our set backs. SO has had injuries and migraine  and I have been diagnosed with an allergy and have had a run in with tick bites. Paris in November brought me a huge rash on my legs. But in the bigger scheme of things we have been healthy. We ave had our bouts of parental health scares and have become more aware that our parents are not getting any younger. We have had (very) expensive car trouble, but that got sorted. We have had a major fight to gain control over the creme brulee, but this too we won. We have our worries and things but because we are feeling good we feel we can handle them well and they do not feel as large ticket items generally.

Happy New Year

This year and I want to continue on that path, in part consciously started in 2011.  I am so glad that I sew more again, with thanks to having a sewing buddy and my class. I want to increase my knitting and general me-time. I am getting used to taking the me time on occasion it is like a 24 hour mini holiday. For 2012 I want to indulge more in my passions as I have noticed that it spills over in my work and that leads to good things. I want to continue my yoga practice on a near daily basis. It has given me so much.

2012 I want again to be a good year for me and SO. SO is moving to a new project  at work. He is taking the next step in his career. It is a step that is a big one and I will support him the whole way. I know he can do it and he does too, but is a little nervous.

In 2012 I want to do more sports as we have had a year with injuries and thus have not been skietsing as much as we’d like. But most of all I want to be as happy as I have been for the last 5 years with SO. My life with him is simply the best and that is really everything I really really want. To continue on the path that we have taken together.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Home life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2011 in review

  1. I hope you have a wonderful year filled with all the things you love! 🙂

  2. soccerlifevn says:

    2011 in the past, welcome 2012 . Love it. I’m going to write a year review like u, too 🙂

  3. Lady E says:

    Glad I discovered your blog, it’s refreshing… A very good new year to you indeed !

Leave a Reply

