New museum (at least for us)

A few days back I posted about our first museum visit of the year. Now this post is about  the second visit and this within a year that is only a week old! Mind you it is a great way to spend the holiday. In fact we went on Thursday and I wanted to blog on Friday, but did not. My back has been been behaving and yesterday it was too painful. Thank heavens for an understanding GP and some good pain killers/anti-inflammatory pills and I am getting better again. Just one of those little things that rears its ugly head sometimes.

Anyway the blog news; we went to the boijmans van beuningen museum on Thursday and though it is totally different from the gemeentemuseum we still liked it a lot. In fact it was hugely entertaining. They did not have (or so we thought) and exhibition on we would really really like but we were wrong there. The exhibition that spoke to us in a dramatic way was the Marijke van Warmerdam exhibition. She is a multimedia artist and has many many different ways of doing things. Her printed mirrors are awesome. A whole large room was dedicated to her video art and was overwhelming, wonderful and every time intriguingly different.  The pictures don’t really do it any justice. I have added two of my own pictures. The green lady (no idea of that is really the title). The lady moves too, and she is magnificent. The lady is standing in and moving in a landscape. She is part of the landscape and at the same time she is not. The dress is a screen print. I totally adore her and would have taken her home to stand behind our large window.

The Boijmans building has old and new parts and is a labyrinth of sorts. We even manged to get lost at the start. We simply had no idea where to start. We walked through and went to the exhibitions of choice. Boijmans has a lot of variation in art and is a great place to have a reasonably quick tour of Dutch painting history. And you do pick them out the really great masters. The Rembrandt, the Dali, Kandinski, even when you do not know it is them, The paintings so stand out in quality. And then in the middle of the 17th century masters there is a piece of modern art and it fits very well. Loved it, though I did not register the artist.
Another feature at the Boijmans which we loved was the cloakroom, which was not a cloakroom but a piece of art in itself. I have them in the picture gallery in this post. All in all it was a great afternoon with a lot to take in. We will return to the Boijmans now that we have the annual museumticket

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Art, Feelings, Holiday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New museum (at least for us)

  1. Without any doubt, one of my favorite museums in the Netherlands!

    • Gilraen says:

      It is cool, but there are many many more to explore.:-) For us it has a bonus that it it not far

      • Can you give me some names? I know some good museums in Rotterdam and Amsterdam, but for the rest this poor Belgian doesn’t know a lot about your museums…

      • Gilraen says:

        A few from the top of my head not in Amsterdam or Rotterdam: Kroller Moller of course, van Abbe museum Eindhoven, Groningen Museum, Gemeente museum Den Haag.
        Here is a list of musea that can be visited with a museumjaarkaart (€45) Not all of them will be of interest and there those not part of the jaarkaart network are not on there, but it will give you an idea of what to do north of the border 🙂

  2. Robin says:

    You’re right. I do love the Green Lady. 🙂

  3. miekje says:

    I can’t believe you had never been to the Boymans! I used to go often; it is like a mini-Rijksmuseum or mini-V&A: lots of ‘decor’ and crafts alongside the ‘real’ art. And their cafe serve really interesting and tasty fare. Of course I used to work around the corner. As a matter of fact, I have often worked around the corner from great museums: Dublin’s Museum of Modern Art and the British Museum to name a few. Both also excellent for lunch…

    • Gilraen says:

      I know you worked there. I even pointed it out to SO :-). SO had never been there. I was there once for a special exhibition with you actually. Probably was in 1994ish.
      But we only visited the exhibition then as we were desperately short on time. I think we got there by 4pm, so I am not counting that as a museum visit.
      The cafe was good, I had a really yummie salad there next to the airplane.

  4. Pingback: Mr. Gaultier | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

