What just happened?

We did not do much today but still SO managed to get me totally speechless.We had to go to get some bits and pieces for dinner and for the coming week again. SO mentioned that he wanted to buy a new USB stick.

We wandered through the city enjoying the coolish, sunny weather and simply enjoying the company we were with. I asked SO why he wanted a USB stick, we have many already. He explained that he wanted one that was dedicated to some work to make his life easier. Fair enough. So lets do that first as that is the store further away.

We wandered in and SO immediately took to the corner where they have e-readers and asked the man: “Do you have one in red?” “Unfortuntaly not, but we have them in white and black” SO turns to me with a wicked little smile and says “Do you mind having a white one?”Uhm what? A white one? Me? But I don’t,………………… hang on, what is happening here?

SO smiled and said: “You were so cute being engrossed in the reading and I know that you have been looking at one, but have been very strict with yourself on this and putting it off. I just want to buy you one, just because I love seeing you reading so happily”. I looked slightly stunned and sheepishly at SO as reality was starting to sink in but not reaching my brain yet. SO enjoyed himself tremendously seeing my response and buying the e-reader.

It took some time today for it all to sink in and before I found my voice again. I now have my own e-reader. No more taking turns and I can take it with me whenever I want. SO was always kind and courteous that I could take the e-reader whenever I had a long train trip, but this is even better. I spent part of the rest of the day updating software, registering, loading our Gutenberg collection and the Discworld novels by Terry Pratchett.  I am still not 100% fully functional but I am so going to enjoy this. What a wonderful generous man I married. He really managed to take me by surprise with this present.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Pampering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What just happened?

  1. Lovely. 🙂
    Michael gave me his ereader this week (mostly because he now has an iPad), and I love it.
    Which books did you get from Gutenberg?

  2. Gilraen says:

    Oh so many. Lots of old old stuff that I otherwise would not read and stuff I had to read for school, but am only now old enough to understand.
    An old translation of my childhood favourite, Nils Holgerson, Gullivers travels, Jules Verne etc etc. Even some Edda stories (translated of course)
    I went a little mad when I found gutenberg and as the files are small etc I just took whatever I liked.
    PS Gutenberg are the copyright free ones

    • I love Gutenberg too – all of Austen, a lot of Brontë(s), and a few by Dickens is what I have so far. Hadn’t thought to get any Lagerlöf though, I should definitely get those too.

      Oh, and I’ve got a bunch of really old (= pre-Tolkien) fantasy after listening to the Modern Scholar lectures on the Fantasy genre called Rings, Swords and Monsters. Those lecture series are really worth listening to by the way – especially the ones by prof. Drout.

      • Gilraen says:

        There is so much on Gutenberg. I even found an old book on needlework! Scary place, it is like walking through one of those old old bookstores without the dust

  3. Pingback: 2012 in numbers | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

