Back to work

Both SO and I are back at work this week. It is quite a change again, both in time, pace and structure. Not that we got out of bed really late but 6.15 is a significant difference from 8-ish.

SO had told me he wanted to change his habit and rise with me. My biorhythm is that of a morning person. I get up early and as a result tend to be in bed at a reasonable time. SO is not a night owl but most certainly has a natural inclination to be later. It was therefore a happy surprise that he wanted to get up at 6.15 with me and I have to admit so far so good. One of the things that helps him is that we do take our time in the morning. It allows him to wake up, whereas I am usually awake by the time I am in the vertical position. At present we are leaving the house at 7.30 ish, which is great for me.

But the body needs to adjust we both notice this. It is not bad but all of a sudden you realist that it is still winter and we are waking up in the dark again, after three weeks waiting for the light to start coming in. We’ve also increased our exercise again and my first yoga class of the year was intense, but good. I’d kept my yoga up for most of the holiday (apart from when my back hurt) so tose positions were easy. It was the other ones that were more difficult.

Do I dislike being back at work? No I don’t. Toward the end of the holiday I really wanted the structure that work provides again. Sure we made our own structure and we can manage, but I do love being back at work. It is pleasant to notice that when you return to work after a holiday that you think: ‘Actually I like my job most of the time’. It gives huge satisfaction when you notice that.

SO and I did decide that we needed to really work on this holiday idea, we do not take enough holidays and we notice that we are simply too tired when we finally do get to have a longer break. We’ll see how we go, but it is something we both felt, is needed.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

