Something old

Today I headed for my sewing machine again. I had some left over fabric still in my stash. Yesterday I had found it was not enough for the skirt I had intended and I was kinda miffed about that. Then I considered another pattern, a mini skirt. But really I am not a miniskirt type of girl and just thought this one is going to end up in the back of my wardrobe and never gets worn. Not good.

So with a total brainwave I walked upstairs to get an old pattern I used to make often. The pattern KS 2694 was known as one of the best cross over top patterns for stretch fabric and at one stage I had at least 6 versions in my wardrobe. At present one and really it should go.  The last time I actually sewed it up was in NZ, so over 5 years ago.

I pulled it out and just started. Three hours later I have a nice, well fitting shirt. The only change to the original (bottom one on the patternsheet) was to extend the arms, to make them full length. No pictures yet, but I am sure I can get SO to make some tomorrow when the light is better.

Just mentioned to SO sewing is getting easier and easier. Possibly because I am sewing so often at present. Even my fabric stash is starting to feel the pinch in that my stash corner is getting less full again. Gotta do something about that soon 🙂

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Home life, Sewing, Weekend and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something old

  1. Ooooh, running low on fabric… A very scary and yet strangely attractive scenario. 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      Oh well I have to make room for the next market day don’t I? But yes it is a bit weird to sit there and go. Hm not that much choice left

  2. Pingback: Fabric scheming | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

