For the love of cooking

Just pondering some thoughts at present, so this post will follow my thoughts and may end up being a bit odd :-). SO and I are always trying new recipes as we both enjoy cooking a lot. We are total BBC Food program junkies. We love love love the Great British Bake Off, Masterchef (in all incarnations), Hairy bikers and the Great British Food Revival. For some reason it is a genre that is very very good on the BBC (love auntie beep anyway) and their website is simply phenomenal.

Some would suggest that there is a tendency to go back to foods and things of days gone by. From what I have been reading when there is a crisis people tend to return to recipes that feel comfortable, home and a form of cocooning. Recycling and making due seem to be buzzwords. But also fashion grabs back to days that give us fuzzy warm feelings. Vintage style is making a comeback and the focus is on 40’s and 50’s. I have to say for me there may be an element of that in a link to my past.

Looking back I learned a lot about cooking from my gran. Sure a lot from my mum too but gran was more about how to produce from scratch and things do come back to me on that. For instance it was my gran that I called when I was a student and in a flash of insanity promised to bake a prune pie from fresh prunes. She thought it so funny and it was a great pie in the end.

So cooking and baking have always been part of my life and upbringing. But when you are both working full time buying instant does seem attractive, but really reheating takes about as much time as preparing a meal from scratch, provided you have prepared yourself with staples. At least that is what we have been finding over time as SO and I have been trying out more recipes.

In part the love of cooking is a reason, but as we are getting better and better at it we also notice that the more honest versions taste better, are less salty and deeply fulfilling that homebody feeling. Making something yourself just for you and your loved one is amazingly satisfying. Maybe there is something to that secret L ingredient in homecooking :-).Β  It is a a warm comfort blanket that we wrap around us. It is so homely and satisfying to do.

We are always trying to add more skills to the list and this weekend we are going to make pizza from scratch. Most recipes are not that hard, you just have to learn the skill and also be prepared to really have a miss occasionally. The feel of products is wonderful and we both really enjoy it. The fact that we have a large freezer does help. More and more we are using the freezer as a repository for base materials; broth, sauce, fond, tomato sauce etc. All made from honest materials, no additives other that ingredients and tasty.

For us it is not so much a conscious lifestyle choice, more of a lifestyle flow. And of course thatΒ  we find that our hobby is tasting really well. The more we try the more we love it. But as it is only the two of us, well we have to invite friends on a regular basis for dinner. Really we do love our friends and we love catching up with them, but we also love very much cooking for them and for us to go all out on it. Greatest compliment yet? “Can you please send me this recipe I love it”. Now hearing that is great satisfaction.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Food, Home life, Pampering, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to For the love of cooking

  1. Yay! Another Masterchef fan! πŸ™‚

  2. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    I’m with you I love all of the cooking programmes and I always have cook books on my bedside table. Cooking is my de-stresser and even although I work full time we rarely have ready meals. I agree with you, it takes just as long to heat them up than to cook a good simple meal from scratch. Good luck with the pizza. I use a Jamie Oliver recipe – there is nothing nicer than us all sitting down with a big pizza that we’ve made ourselves.

  3. clutterbug2011 says:

    Great post!! I am additcted to the “Food Network” (in Canada) and adore watching older cooking shows that re-run on occasion! My passion is for baking and I also enjoy the feeling of serving something to my loved ones that tastes delicious and is better for them than ready made πŸ™‚

    • Gilraen says:

      Yes there is certainly a sense of pride with a nice home cooked meal. I too love baking, but with only two in the house I can’t do it as often as I’d like as we’d expand too much. Even my co-workers have asked to tone it down a bit (they were my look what I have bunch)

  4. miekje says:

    We are addicted to Masterchef Australia, much better than the UK one! When I lived in Germany I shared a flat with some real food connoisseurs, who used to make everything from Although we did buy passata for the sun-ripened tomato flavour. Enjoy!

  5. miekje says:

    My comment is missing some bits. They made everything from scratch, and we always had wholemeal pizza dough in individual portions in the freezer.

    • Gilraen says:

      Well I am going to try the dough freezing thing once I am happy with my base. First time was pretty OK just too large for the oven, Need to work on that πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Food experiments | Gilraensblog

  7. Pingback: Happy books! | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

