Winter is finally here

The darkest days are over, that is what I noticed today. As I walked to work I noted that instead of deep pitch black I saw a glimmer of dawn when I started walking. I did look twice as I live in an area where there is so much light pollution that we barely see the brightest stars in the sky. So I had to make sure that the light truly was dawn.

The weather was crystal clear and as a result cold. Finally it feels like winter instead of an autumn that slowly moves into spring. In a few areas the frost had been so deep one can skate. Not where I live as we had wind from sea and it is simply too warm to get to frost. I love this weather. I really really love the cold, clear bright weather.

We had the same yesterday when running/cycling. SO managed 11km through the cold. Despite the cold it was a busy Sunday afternoon with runners skaters, walkers and even some horse-riders. Everybody seemed eager to be outside and get some fresh air.

The next few days will remain as cold and clear as they are at present, according to the forecasts some snow later. I am so looking forward to this. I do love winter.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Winter is finally here

  1. Robin says:

    I love winter too. 🙂

  2. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    I also noticed (because I’m walking to and from work due to car problems) that it is lighter. I love winter and like getting all wrapped up against the elements. 11K – wow! Good for you.

    • Gilraen says:

      Well SO is doing the running I cycle 🙂 He’s training for a half marathon and in a very very low gear it is actually a great starter for our skietsing for me

  3. Pingback: Ah, winter « draliman on life

Leave a Reply

