Getting up

It has been a busy week again. Both for SO and myself. Though I only got the all clear on Monday it feels like eons ago. Not that this is a bad thing, but time goes fast at present. Life will remain like this for a few weeks for me and then we have a lower workload few weeks

Our new morning routine seems to suit SO better than he had anticipated. In the past I would get up at 6.15 and do my yoga, shower go downstairs. SO would follow coming out of bed around 7.00ish. However as I was getting in the routine of leaving between 7.30 and 7.45 it made that a few times I barely saw SO in the morning and we both missed that. Also SO noticed how well I was doing on my routine and decided to give it a shot too.

So at 6.15 we both get up. SO first, one has to be the first in the toilet :-). SO then goes about his shower routine while I do my yoga. When I finish he puts in his exercise and I shower. Usually it is SO downstairs first as I take longer to get dressed Choosing an outfit can be hard work.  We have proper breakfast together and talk though the day before us including food/dinner logistics. around 7.30 I leave and SO follows shortly after.

It has meant being home earlier for me and it suits my natural rhythm. SO is finding the drive less stressfull and is generally very happy with the new routine. The only drawback of course is that also go to bed earlier, but then again we are usually in by 9pm anyway and the alternatives (computer, TV) are really not that productive anyway.

Another good thing we are noticing – we sleep in over the weekend, which means getting up between 7.00 and 8.00, being in town at 10.00 when the shops are just opening. Staff is then not yet overstuffed with customers and super helpful for that only client in store. We are  out by midday, just before all other people enter the city. We are then home and with oodles of time on our hands to do the good weekend stuff. (This week that means baking). It means that I feel less stressed during the weekend as it is easier to get everything done. SO is noticing the same thing and has commented multiple time that he is really liking the routine.

However this week will be the first time since we have had this change that he is traveling for work It will be our real test if we can keep it up and keep liking it.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Family, Feelings, Home life, shopping, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting up

  1. Pingback: Fabric scheming | Gilraensblog

  2. clutterbug2011 says:

    You and your SO really seem to have a fantastic relationship! It’s inspiring, I’m sure even with him travelling for work you’ll still make your morning routine work 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks! As for my routine, not worried about that, more worried about his 🙂
      This time he was fine and we got back into the routine immediately

Leave a Reply

