A change of season?

Weather is weird, it really is. Last week I was wearing multiple layers when walking or cycling to work. It was cold and then I just put more layers on layers. Air gets trapped in between and keeps me really want. I was wearing so many layers that I could virtually roll down the street with some many layers on. Skating on the canals was totally en vogue and we were all loving the fact that it was a clear cold, but not slippery, nor mushy etc.

So what happened on Monday? Code red weather alarm; sleet and black ice multiple accidents and please stay off the road. I went to work dressed as if I had run through a  clothing store and wore everything on the rack. Of course I took my spikes that I can wear over my walking shoes with thick soles. I mean sleet and black ice, mean wind, cold wind right? Wrong!

Sure it was slippery in my street, but just around the corner it was fine, my city has a very good road salting policy. So I happily kept the spikes in my bag. Soon the spikes were followed by my hat (I still wore my fleece hood), my first pair of gloves (I wear two over each other) About one third of the way to work I was totally hot and sweaty. So off came my winter coat, the fleece was sufficient. Even the scarf was undone by halfway. My backpack was a lot heavier than I had started and I wondered how many Kg’s of clothing I actually wear when it is that cold.

Today I was more sensible and left the fleece and one additional layer of clothing at home. During the trip to work it was fine. The breeze was nice and had a sort of warmth to it. It sort of was as if winter was promising to get spring in. However at work this worked counter productive as our office was very very warm. My co-worker was sitting behind his desk wearing only a T-shirt and this was with the window open!

So I don’t think winter will be back, I am just in awe in how quickly this change came about. For a few days I am just totally confused about what to wear. The good thing though is that on Thursday when I have to travel for work I can take the bike from the station to the company. Looking forward to that!

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

