similarities in unexpected places

As I mentioned yesterday our friends that visited are due to be ,married this year. She’s already bought her wedding dress, so could not discuss details. However her husband-to-be knew one of the details It was not going to be strapless.

She stated. “I really don’t want strapless, I hate it. It only looks good on very very few people and really who wants to spend their day pulling up their dress because it is not on your shoulders.” I could have hugged her right there and then. What a sensible young lady she is 🙂 In fact she almost word for word sounded like me when I was selecting my wedding dress. 😉 I ended up going one step further as I wanted sleeves (being a winterbride). I am glad I am not the only one having this specific sentiment on strapless dresses

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, fashion, Friends, Wedding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to similarities in unexpected places

  1. miekje says:

    I loved my strapless dress. But of course it was made properly with boning and stiffening, and I have hips that it could sit on. I didn’t have a problem with it falling down, more a little problem with it riding up a bit in the waist area to accommodate said hips :-). But everyone to their own taste. You have to feel comfortable in your wedding dress for a whole long day. A test run of a couple of hours around the house is a good idea, especially if you have an agreement that last-minute alterations can be accommodated.

    • Gilraen says:

      🙂 Need I remind you that you are and always have been one of those people that can wear styles & stuff that almost nobody else can?
      Yep you are one of those few that pulls off strapless as you have the right proportions for it.

Leave a Reply

