Excersise and happy thoughts

It is still winter we noticed today.  We went out for a run/cycle in clear wonderful blue sky kinda warmish weather, just like it was yesterday. As long as the sun is out 10°C can feel really nice after all. It was lovely and we really really tarted off well. SO was running with the energy of a foal let loose in the meadows. I just loved looking around.

We left around 13.30 and planned on a 15-18km stretch today. Our municipality does not have a lot of nature, but where is there is there and well used. As it was nice outside there were lots of people out so at times we felt a bit in the middle of a people slalom. We got slightly lost as the path SO had chosen is no longer there- In a few months time that will be motorway, but you know, where I live you can’t get lost, all you can end up is taking the long way.

So for most of the time we were outside it was nice, but by the time the clock turned past 15.00 it got colder quickly. At 15 km SO was done for the day, but we were still quite a bit away from home. As SO was catching his breath I noticed that one of the buildings I always see from the other side of the water, now only was a front. Everything behind it was flattened. Interesting I wonder what they are doing there now.  Yet another positive side effect of exercise this way. You see parts of the city that are not on your normal tracks and show interesting changes too. So now I am on a mission to find out what is happening on that side of the canal 🙂

Anyway after SO had finished his run I cycled home quickly and noticed how much the temperature was dropping in a short space of time and how cold the wind still was without the sun to give it a twist of warmth. I was cold when I got home, much to my surprise and took an instant dive into the cupboard containing the hot chocolate. SO joined me on that when he arrived home. We felt we deserved that little treat.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Sports, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Excersise and happy thoughts

  1. Robin says:

    I agree. Hot chocolate was a well-deserved treat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

