Little efficient me

The weekend started off with me being my totally organised self on Saturday taking SIL bridal dress shopping. I was of course quite honoured that she’s asked me. I’d made the appointment in the store where SO had found his wedding suit and was helped by excellent staff. As we were a last minute booking (SIL is blissfully and naively unaware of standard wedding timelines) we had an early 9.30 appointment. We’d gotten there by tram which is about half an hour and had taken one earlier than we needed to. Anyway this is a long winded way to state that I did not sleep in on Saturday.

Now one of my more favourite hobbies is helping friends and other loved ones spending their money on them. I love clothes shopping for other people with them. Given the number of friends that wanted me around to buy their ballgowns and their first job interview suits I think I am not bad at it 🙂

SIL  ended up having trying on a fair few dresses. Most in the styles she could imagine herself in. Dresses described from “not too bad” to – “I am not even going to show you this one” by her and me. And then there was the one. OMG she looked simply stunning. She just oozed happiness, charm, style, sexy, confidence  and yet a touch of  vulnerability. She looked in the mirror and it was magic and I could also see that she was quite taken aback with what she saw. I don’t think she ever thought she could look that wonderful. Most certainly as it was not the style of dress she would have thought of herself.  But that look of pure happiness and insane confidence I’d seen her have twice, after giving birth to both her daughters. I told her so and I could see her fighting the tears as she too knew it. But she was also taken aback by the efficiency. She’d expected it to be harder and more of a slog to find the right dress.

She wanted to sleep on it, but then again it was the last of its kind. A huge dilemma, it could be sold and there was not enough time to order another one from the supplier. She felt pressured and knowing her that is a sure way to make her not do something. So I took her out of the store, took her for a coffee and a chocolate cake (MOST important in cases like this) and we talked about many things, mostly the kids, but not dresses. And then she said; “I don’t want to loose that dress but I want my mothers opinion”. I then told her to call her mother, like now! She did after a little more nudging from my side. Her mother answered and of course dropped everything to come to town and see the dress, what loving excited mother -of-the-bride-to-be would not? I went home, so was not there with the second viewing but she did buy it.

As my BIL said today – well aren’t you miss efficient? Well yes, even SO has been fully instructed as he is the one shopping with BIL.  BIL, I think, will be very pleased when he sees his bride. I suspect we’ll see some tears 🙂

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Family, Home life, shopping and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Little efficient me

  1. thesweetkitten says:

    Touching!

  2. How lovely. She is so fortunate to have you as a friend. Special times. 😉

  3. fireflyphil says:

    Very sweet. Now you’ve got us waiting for the wedding photos!

  4. Pingback: Another lovely wedding | Gilraensblog

  5. Pingback: 2012 in numbers | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

