Additional weekend

The huge stress has subsided a bit and all of a sudden we are finding ourselves with a weekend on our hands with very little planned. Very unusual for planners like us.

Originally we would have visited my parents this weekend to celebrate my mothers birthday. Obviously this weeks events prohibit that happening and my parents do understand that we’d rather stay home. FIL had his operation yesterday and it seems to have been successful. He’s looking better already now that the problem seems resolved. Sure he has to stay the weekend and he is still being monitored, but at least the immediate issue is gone.

SO’s tension and stress has dropped a fair few notches and he too is looking a lot more relexed that he has the whole week. He was so tense that he almost forgot that he still has an injury himself still. So here we are, with nothing much on our hands but to visit FIL in hospital. FIL is due to be released on Monday all going well. Then of course there will be some time needed for recovery. SO promised for us to take his parents to a nice restaurant when he is fully recovered.

I may just use this unforeseen free weekend to do more sewing and some knitting. Just generally relax and trying to overcome the weeks rollercoaster. I have taken coming Friday off for one of my me days – I think I really need it this time. Oh and to enjoy the spring sunshine that is coming out. Maybe I’ll drag SO to a little cafe just to have drink on the square enjoy and celebrate life.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Additional weekend

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    It sounds like a perfect weekend to me. I’m pleased the operation went well. Such a stressful time for you all.

Leave a Reply

