adventures in knitting

I used to love knitting and did it a lot in the far flung past. I had not knitted anything substantial for years. In fact my last sweater that actually was wearable was made over 20 years ago (instantly feeling old). So after a trial run with a simple scarf for SO I decided to dive in deep and make me winter sweater.

I’d always loved cabling and decided in order to get back on track to use this type of pattern. I decided on this relatively simple Verena pattern Clara. The pattern I wrote out in excel. In the olden days I used paper of course, but due to the copy and paste function in excel the time to do this chore is much less time consuming than it used to be.

I did not make the sweater in brown but in a dark red that I had brought from our NZ trip. The wool a merino, alpaca, possum  blend in a dark deep red. However I did not have enough wool for the whole sweater. So what to do? Instead of doing all kinds of difficult things with importing more and not having the same die bath. I decided to use colour blocking. In my favourite knitting store  I found a with a grey for the sleeves and cowl neck and this turned out to be a good decision.

I’d also transferred the pattern to the sleeve. Adding more work, but it gives a nice personal touch to the sweater together with the colour blocking. A lovely unique and warm sweater is the result. I love the cables and the pattern. It was a lot of work and I got scared out of my mind a few times. I put it away a few times as I simply froze. I just had to remind myself over and over again, that I once knew how to do this and in order to get it back all I had to do is practice. It worked in the end.

It was also the first time in my life that I used a circular needle.When I was knitting when younger they did not exist. The person that invented them should receive a Nobel prize. What a great invention. The cowl is so much nicer, even and easier this way!

I had to wear it to seeing class as my teacher and M had insisted I’d show off. My sewing teacher loved it so much she had me showing her the specific stitches. She had never done cabling. According to SO it kinda looks as if it is part of the Star Trek colour scheme. It really looks good, and it is very very nice and warm. So now all I need to do is wait until next winter to wear it. With the current spring in the air, it really is too warm

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, fashion, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to adventures in knitting

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    I love it! Well done

  2. miekje says:

    Well done for persevering! It is absolutely lovely and it suits you so well!

  3. Pingback: Did two things that frightened me | Gilraensblog

  4. Pingback: 2012 in numbers | Gilraensblog

  5. Pingback: Knitting | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

