Frugally me

Having a me day is one of those lovely gifts I give myself on occasion. Today is one of those little gifts. I still got up with SO as I like getting up early to fully embrace the day. When he’d left for work I went and did something I have not done in a long long time.

In the olden days – well before I earned decent money at least – I was pretty good about recycling stuff where I could. Over the years I have had less of an interest in that. But just this week one of my trousers decided to really give up the ghost (fabric really fell apart) and I decided to rescue the zipper in there as that was one that was relatively new. I put it in an older pair of trousers that I no longer wore because the zipper was irreparably damaged and I had not bought a new one.

Once I started that I continued with other trousers that I’d thorn out – or rather live in the to be thrown when I have time closet. I then proceeded to remove buttons from blouses and taking palettes of a top. The latter now turned into a top that I thought Oh I can do something with this again. Nicely recycled. It feels good to recycle these little things. It is not a money thing, but a thing of re-using what you own and reducing your garbage footprint I guess. But whatever the reason it is a nice feeling.

After all that the sun was coming out and it was too nice to be indoors. I did some shopping for dinner and wandered through town a bit. Just picking up a few bits and bobs while I was at it. It was so nice in the city – strolling through people soaking up the first sunshine. It was also quite busy. Here a fair few people have every Friday or every other Friday off, so that mean more shoppers on Friday. In fact SO and I are sometimes joking that we are becoming an extinct race with working full time but I digress.

Just arrived home and intent to either sew a little I think, but first I may do some baking.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in fashion, Home life, Sewing, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

