Serape with burns

When I was in Brussels for a meeting in October last year I saw my French counterpart in the most lovely serape, as she called it. I fell in love with it, I’d been looking for a really nice one for over a year, but until then I had not seen one I really liked to the I want to have stages. My counterpart was kind enough to tell me where she had purchased it in Paris.

Given that I was due to have a meeting in Paris a few weeks later in November I used the little spare time I had to run to the store and buy one for myself. Not the same but a grey and red number. It is wool and lush and totally perfect for heading out into town on a cool springevening. So I’d only worn it twice since I bought it when I wore it this Sunday.

It was that evening that I saw a spot on my lovely serape, and then another one, etc a whole row of them, one even with a hole. A burn hole to be exact! You know a hole the size of say a cigarette, that had burned through a few bunched layers. I was a mildly upset about it, but was too busy with family stuff to give it too much thought.

But simmering over it during the week I am just wondering where and how it happened, I really do not know where the close encounter with smoker with weapon happened. What I do know that ever since they banned smoking in bars the entrance to a lot of restaurants etc is often semi-blocked by people lurking on their addiction sticks and having a conversation waving those stinkies around. People smoking in the street, walking standing etc often seem completely oblivious to the fact that they have something in their hands capable of burning holes into stuff. So I suspect that at some point some wielder was too close and pushed their hot ciggiebutt into my beautiful serape. Most likely not on purpose, but in complete oblivion and I am not sure which is worse to me, the holes or the oblivion and ignorance about what it can do when you are outside. I can’t replace the serape (I checked) but may be able to jig it so I cover the holes and make it a design feature. I know am sad and angry about it and I know I am taking my anger out on all cigarette smokers, but why did it have to be this serape and not my old coat? Damn it, this is exactly why I have always been so careful around these people. Just too bad they were not as careful around me.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in fashion, Feelings, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serape with burns

Leave a Reply

