Not getting rid of our land phoneline just yet

FIL is home. Things are looking better and we are recovering from all the stress. SO slept like a log for a few night and you could see the worry and stress being lifted. Good to see him too returning to normal and relaxing – Of course the Easter weekend will be a four day relax with a night at hotel momma too. We just hope that the weather will remain nice.

Things in the stress department are not helped by our mobile phone carrier. They had a fire a huge one in a nearby station. Result? Plenty of people (including government) without mobile network and that is now on its third day. Whenever I arrive home the phone switches to our wifi network and thus all of a sudden messages flood in. The SMS service seems to work intermittently at home and you get all these messages a wee bit late.

So yesterday I received a SMS from my FIL and I did not mange to interpret it. I what’s apped SO to call his dad (twice) and he called me to ask me why and I told him about the SMS I had received and that I was concerned. Thankfully SO’s brain was more switched on than mine and he told me what the date/time stamp was on it. It had been my FILs way of telling us he had arrived home the day before. Thanks to our carrier this came in so late that I misinterpreted. It does show though that the stress is still there.

Today we are going to take it easy and as we still have no mobile connection I am reliant on my homephone for talking to my friend M about a sewing afternoon at her place. We’ve been friends for two years now and only now are we exchanging landlines. How terribly old fashioned to have to do that. It does go to show that having a backup system is worthwhile.

Are you listening mobile phone companies – back up systems are really good!

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Home life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

