Just an afternoon

Yesterday I spent time with my sewing buddy. Not that we got to do any sewing of course but talking and bouncing off ideas on fabric and patterns was totally enjoyable. Lots of tea with scones and home made jam.  Just being there was when I needed to realise that I am tired, that there is a lot of stress hiding in my body and that we’ve been through more than we think we were. It is good to have a friend like that.

Though SO and I are the support team, the being on call and the worrying is taking a toll. I know how I work I am pretty good in a crisis. I can keep all balls in the air and make it look as part of life. However once the crisis has abated I feel it falling down, including me. No longer do I have to keep things up, no longer is my support required and I then so desperately need to recharge, but find it hard to admit this. Just talking about sewing, pottering about and really just being me without real commitments helped me.

SO was wonderful in the evening when I finally admitted to be shattered and we simply watched TV. Ice Age 3 is a wonderful silly movie then :-). Today I made two batches of muffins to take to my parents as we are paying them a relatively short visit. We’ve put off seeing them because of the issues what have been happening. My parents have been wonderfully supportive, both to us and to my in-laws. So proud of mum in how she has been able to support MIL and at the same time step back and realise my priority had to be here.

Just a few more days recovery (long live the four day weekend) and I think I have de-stressed and recovered this again. Life is showing the first signs on being on the up again.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Friends, Home life, Sewing, Weekend and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

