The thing with easter

Easter is a wonderful spring time. Both SO and I are lucky that we always have a 4 day weekend over easter. This year no different and I feel I have had a run-rest-run two weeks.

As said earlier we did do a lot of catching up on sleep and reducing of stress so that was really really good. However there is a drawback. Two weeks in a row you also only have 4 working days and somehow enough work for 5.

The whole week SO has been working late – granted it is of a speech he needs to prepare for his alumni thing, but still. He was talking about having to work tomorrow as well. I have been running at work to get everything sorted for some major things, some with a deadline of one hour only. We had an event last Friday and it was a huge success, and though I was not the principal organiser I did have my part to play.

Fortunately I am also starting to feel relaxed again in a way of being able to let go. A good session of yoga and seeing FIL getting stronger again helped a lot and I do like being busy. I really really do.

So I got it into my head to try something new – for me –  with bread. After all why let yourself be stopped by being a little too busy? So I started a sourdough starter. Something I had been contemplating for a while but always considered to be too labour intensive, space conscious and smelly. I was right with the smelly part :-). I am finishing it because I started it, but I doubt it will be worthy of repeat. The experiment has not been finished yet as the bread is not ready (time is of the essence), so I reserve the right to change my mind on it.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Family, Food, Home life, Stuff, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

