Corteo

Yes it was a Cirque du Soleil day again. This time Corteo came to town.

One of the things was to find the seats. As the lay out  of this spectacle is different it is harder to know what the good seats are. The stage runs diagonally through the whole tent area so the audience is literally split into two areas. Thankfully I picked us some really good ones. We arrived nice on time, got a drink and some popcorn, as is standard by now. While everybody was being seated we got spotted by one of SO’s co-workers and I got introduced. Really odd to meet a person while holding the popcorn I had to hold it with my teeth in order to shake his hand.

The show? Well it was good, it was very good. Though I still prefer Totem, somehow that show resonated with me. This show has a certain playfulness and fun about it. Given that it revolves around clowns that is not surprising. I loved the trampoline act as it is done by acrobats dressed as children on beds. A pillow fight becomes an acrobatic act. Brilliant thought. The idea of swinging from the chandeliers gets a whole different meaning, with ladies dressed in a burlesque manner. There was an almost west side story gang sequence with a teeterboard. The way that some acts are really part of a story makes it for me the unique thing about the cirque.

This one also has the best stagedive ever with one of the little acrobats hanging off Helium balloons and being pushed off stage into the audience where she is pushed back up It is as if she dances on top of the audience.

Shoppingwise – well the music of course, though we did think about that – the second part being better than the first in our opinion. A book on costumes I simply had to have and I have a very understanding SO. We also wanted to buy the obligatory coffee mug but reality is we really did not like the one from this show. So we bought the general mugs. A nice pink one and a retro black one.

Afterward we drove home, as usual we’d attended the matinee as that suits us fine with the trip home, hearing the news that our government had crumbled, followed by news about a large scale train accident. So much for being out of the information loop for just a few hours!  We has a quick dinner at our local favourite and went to bed

So all in all I think Corteo too is worth seeing. It certainly is fun and playful and will whisk you away from the world we generally live in for a few blissful hours

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Art, Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Corteo

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Oh I would love to see them – keep promising myself it is something I will do. Thanks for this.

    • Gilraen says:

      Oh do! It is a wonderful treat. They should be coming your way at regular intervals.
      They tend to be near us (45 min drive) about once eery 2 years and if we would be willing to go to Belgium or Germany (1-2 hours) then more often

  2. Pingback: Back to back | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

