Back to back

Some 20 years ago I was in a sailing race. Nothing grand, no Olympics or anything like that.

Just a bunch of students on a pubcrawl in Friesland pretending to have a boat race as well. We were a team of five. One of them being my friend Miekje, who comments on a regular basis, her brother and two others.

We had lots and lots of fun as I recall and with Miekje and her brother being great sailors and me an OK one we actually were in the top of people that fateful day. When  I say sailing, I mean to say that day it was more a case of floating and trying to catch every sigh of air circulation we encountered. It being Friesland we also had to go under low bridges. Which meant taking sails down, carefully lowering mast and then putting sails back up and float onward. M’s brother at one bridge stated “why not leave the sail up, after all not much wind and it saves time”. Let’s do that.

As can be expected the airgods saw this and decided to have a play with us. So as we had the fully rigged mast loose the sail caught a breath of wind and the mast came down with the word careful also blown away with the sigh. With some amazing acrobatics we all managed to avoid being hit by the mast.  We were all very shaken but allright. However that night my back started playing up badly. Miekje being very concerned got me a hot water bottle (a real bottle like the one on the left) and I managed to get home the next day

As it turns out I had overstretched both my long back muscles. Which meant that I could do everything, but only for 10 minutes at a time. It took a week before I was well enough to get back to my master thesis research and two before I was back in the cashiers deck in the supermarket. I never forgot the pain.

Last Friday we had asparagus for dinner. Lovely, indulgent and in desperate need of some Hollandaise sauce. Home made of course After that lovely dinner I sort of felt a stabbing pain in my back, in fact in my long back muscle. I knew that pain! With horror I felt the pain develop in a way I remembered from about 20 years ago.

Of course the pain was not helped by the magnificent seating arrangements at Corteo, but painkillers are one great invention. One thing that I learned 20 years ago is that sitting still with this injury will aggravate the problem, but so does moving too much. It is paramount that you listen to your body for what it can do. So the whole weekend I listened, discussed and gave in to what my body wanted, but still pushed a little.

Today I decided that yoga is not yet a good idea, but I also managed on just one paracetamol the whole day. I am progressing and through I can still feel that familiar stab/hole/knot in my back I also note it is less inflamed and getting smaller. I will conquer this again. I hate feeling like this, but also note that because of the injury some interesting memories resurfaced. I mean apart from that incident and some minor other stuff we had a great sailing weekend then.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Friends, Holiday, Home life, Sports, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to back

  1. Hope you’ll soon recover completely!

  2. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Take care – you sound like you’re doing all the right things – heal soon.

Leave a Reply

