Proudly improving

My back is improving every day. Still not well but at least OK-ish and taking good care. I am actually quite proud on how I handled it all. It is the advice I give people, but we all know that your own advice is sometimes hardest to follow. I listened to my body and worked with it. I tried to find a way to be both comfortable but not placid. 

When this happened I was worried about a seminar I was due to attend on Thursday. Would I be able to sit through it? At work, though in an office, I have the freedom to walk around a lot and then get a coffee, run an errand etc. Enough to keep my back mobile once the nights freeze up disappeared.  I need not have worried. With just one paracetamol I was fine. Not my best week at work, but I did not have to take time off, just some minor adjustments were needed. Proud of that.

Nights have been mayhem for a bit. In the middle of the night my back kills me still. Though the pain is no longer my whole back, I still wake up with the feeling I have a dagger in my back muscle around 03.00. I now know to get myself a new hot hot water bottle and another paracetamol, wait for both to kick in in half an hour and then I sleep further through the night. I am a firm believer that a good night sleep will aid getting better, but as there is little movement it also tightens the muscles. I so love my hot water bottle to counter that effect. Relaxing tight muscles and hot water bottles are my match made in heaven. I am also not adverse to using pain killers when needed, though at the same time I want to feel my body. It needs to be a balance. The nightly paracetamols are all I am using at present. So I am proud of working out a way of dealing that is acceptable for me.

It is one of those rare occasions where in a way I was grateful that SO was traveling. I sorely missed being comforted for the pain and feeling loved, but it also meant that I did not wake him up one of the nights that sleep was really an issue and I was walking around a few times that night, just to loosen the muscles a bit. I would have hated to be responsible for his lack of sleep. I know SO sees this differently but it was a comfort to me. So I am proud of not having a pity party and being able to see the good of being home alone.

One of the things that I have found is that knitting is soothing as I use my back muscles but only a tiny bit. They stay loose and do not freeze up. I can make use of that. As a result my latest project has moved along just nicely :-). Proud of finding that my hobby is aiding my back. Making something positive because of a negative.

So all in all I think that on Tuesday I will be well enough to walk to work again, which will be great. As walking to work is what I missed the most. But really my body told me two hours walking with a (light) backpack a day is too much. I listened and cycled. Exception was Thursday when I walked to the train station, but back and forth that is only 45 minutes, which was doable. Yeah looking forward to Tuesday on that.Proud of being able to wait out against my own wishes and still trying something half way.

But first we have the long weekend (Queens birthday). SO is home, I am on the mend and after today the weather is going to get better. Life is getting back on track again, proud of that.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Proudly improving

  1. Robin says:

    Having experienced extreme back pain, I have some idea of what you’ve been going through. Like you, I had to listen to my body and work things out for myself. I also agree with you that sometimes taking our own advice is not as easy as giving it. 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      Really if I’d get a Euro for every time I did not listened to my own advice …………… Still I am getting better at it 😉

  2. Hope it gets better soon!

  3. Emily says:

    Ow, ow, ow! Glad to hear that you are being taken care of and getting better.

  4. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    I’ve learned to listen to my body more and I can understand where you are coming from. I have arthritis and so I have to listen but I find it so frustrating not to be able to do the things I need to do. You sound like you are getting there fine.

Leave a Reply

