My hero

SO is officially my hero. Really he is. Why has he deserved this public display of hero-ness? Well he saved me in the middle of the night.

Last night I did not have a good night sleep. Not my back this time, that is really quite getting there, but just things going round and round in my mind and not being able to block them out. Just one of those things that happens. So I tossed some, I turned some and could not figure out why I was having such a hard time getting to sleep. Of course when you try to figure that out, the brain becomes occupied with that and as a result you don’t fall asleep. Which in turn makes you trying to figure etc etc. A self fulfilling prophecy really resulting in no sleep. There were some reasons. There is a fairground at present round the corner and for the first night this week I actually heard the music. Being half awake I started to listen and get annoyed.

All of a sudden I knew what was bothering me. The laundry! You see, I had washed a load of laundry in the evening and had totally forgotten about it before bed. So around midnight I got up, switched off the alarm, went downstairs and hung up the laundry. A great feeling of satisfaction came upon me. And it must be said, I know I fell asleep then, at least for a bit, until 03.00 that is.

Around that time I all of a sudden felt a sting in my hand and it hurt. It felt as if it was swelling. Ouch! It took a few minutes, but then it became clear that some beasty had decided to feast on me. The next thing I knew was another sting in my arm and this time SO woke up because I think I let out a yelp. I told my sleepy SO what happened and he took charge. We could not see any flying insects so to avoid the possibility that this was an insect hiding in the bed he said “why not change the sheets”?

So there were were 03.00 changing the bed linen and falling into the nicely clean bed as soon as possible. I  can now tell you from experience that stripping and making the bed in the middle of the night is not really easy. Somehow the shapes are different when you are not steady on your feet. Anyway as we were snuggling up I all of a sudden hear zzzzzzzzzzzz, zzzzzzzz and immediately we switched on the lights. SO jumped out of bed and inspected the curtains and noticed the irritating thing. He chased it down the bedroom and managed to kill it on the wall. It was loud the killing, but at least the neighbours are on a holiday, so no worries there. My hero! He got the little pest that was having me for dinner.

Slowly we got back into a slumber for the rest of the night. Of course as a result of all this nightly mayhem my hero and I slept in. Just as well it is a day off today.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My hero

  1. You are far more proactive than I am when I can’t sleep. There is certainly something about being up in the middle of the night that makes doing stuff – like changing the bed – more of a task. Glad SO got the offending insect.

    • Gilraen says:

      So am I. My immune response to mosquito bites is quite severe. I am not allergic to them, but the bumps are usually large and painful. So when one of those nasties is in the room I can’t sleep.

Leave a Reply

