Parental supervision

We spent part of the weekend with my parents. We thankfully had decided to go for a round of skietsing before heading out. The itinerary was to take the 35km route through the oostvaardersplassen, which are about half way between my parents and our place The wind blew strong on Saturday, so strong that we decided that the initial plan was a teeny wee bit too ambitious.

Instead we did a 20km-let’s-see-where-this-path-takes-us route around our home area. We know the area well enough to get home even if it would mean cobblestones in worst case scenario. We did find some new interesting places. We also found a fair number of wonderful places to skeeler leading to nowhere and of course back again. Just as well we had decided to dot his before heading out. We arrived home on Sunday around dinner time and we would have lost out on sports had we not been so good about it.

On Saturday we were celebrating my nephews (11 and 15) birthdays and enjoyed those glorious white asparagus.  As you can imagine it was full house and we slept well after all that interaction and sports.

My parents are the proud new owners of a tablet and an Android phone and we, poor techie offspring and supertech SO, had been appointed volunteer to help out, wet up systems and train them in how to use the new devices and install a wee bit of music for the holidays. Thankfully we were prepared. My mother had sent me a list of questions and I had prepared the answers in writing. SO had managed to secure a lot of their music list so we’d arrived fully armed for the Sunday training session.

Lots and lots of questions, finding my way around different versions of Android than my phone has and the quirks of the tablet. But after a few hours I think they got the hang of it and we managed to get the tablet sorted for the holidays. They love the tablet, but the idea of just fiddling with it until you find the answer is slightly alien to them, but basically it is what we do 🙂 SO had a play with the Android tablet and swears the iPad is better. I think his appreciation of the iPad went up another nudge and it was high already.

We left the place by 15.30 and headed home. We were so tired! So we diverted the route and went to get some Chinese food on the other side of town. Zoned out in front of the TV and now the internet. I think we’ll make it an early night.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Home life, Sports, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parental supervision

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    I think it’s great that your parents are embracing technology. Sounds like a wonderful and productive weekend. I’m with your SO I’m a Mac person and can’t see past their products. I think they are far more intuitive than other stuff on the market.

    • Gilraen says:

      I am with you on my parents. Heading towards 70 and still wanting to keep up. It is something I am very proud of.
      As far as Apple is concerned I am a real fan. Fell in love back in 1993 when it was macintosh still.
      The main reason I have an Android phone is because when my old phone broke down the iPhone did not come in white and it would have been too confusing to have the same phone for the both of us, both in black.

Leave a Reply

