Summer thoughts

Here I am listening to one of my music icons  from my childhood. Donna Summer has past away. Knowing that that queen of disco died and that she was 63 makes me feel oldish. I was never a hard core fan. Never heard anything but her huge hits in the hitparade. Saw her on Toppop (our take on top of the pops) but always loved her easy to fall in love with tunes. Listening to the radio station based on Donna Summer (using Spot on radio) just brings back memories of a childhood where music was carefree and fun.

It was not until much later I learned that it was so much more. Her involvement with Giorgio Moroder and her role in electronic music. She was THE disco queen without much competition in my memory. She with Moroder pushed electronic music into a new direction in a way leading to techno and trance (not my favourites) but all that does not matter. She was the disco queen and the queen of disco is gone. An era has ended and I am finding myself reminiscing because of it.

Toward the end of the disco era I was getting into puberty and hence for the best part of the disco era I was one of those girls that happily sang along with songs I really had no clue about what the lyrics implicated. My first interesting music thoughts were people like Mud (dyna-mite, Tiger feet etc) The Sweet (Fox on the Run) Only when I was older I realised a lot of the more mature content in many songs. What I saw was the glitter, the lights, the dance, the upbeat in music and the happy looks. Now I know the happy active craze may often have been drug induced but ignorance can be bliss.

Of course I was terribly in love with Jon Travolta, though I was too young to see Saturday Night Fever (did love Grease though) I also adored Barry Gibb. His manes blowing in the wind on the video clip (just felt he needed to loose the beard). The disco era was so upbeat, such happy listening. I think that is why I like it so much. There was a promise of fun in the music. Despite the fact that is was not the easiest time for people. Anyway enough of it all. We need to see the queen of disco one more time. With the song I remember best from those days “Hot Stuff”

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in fashion, Feelings, Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

