Music on the square

We live in the inner city, very near to some squares where most of the cites events are held. Often when we go shopping there is music in the streets. Music that can be fun, and cheerful, and dare I say it insanely loud.

Despite the fact that the nearest square is just 100m away we do not hear much of it due to the buildings in between. I have to be honest, though I love music I often find the music as played in the squares not to my taste. The loudness is one, but most of them are just no good. Sure they are enthusiastic and have and give a lot of fun, but….you know………kinda terrible.

Today we walked to the shops and when we turned the corner I said to SO, “I hear Prokofiev. That is Peter and the Wolf. Listen that is Peter and hey that is the duck” SO just smiled and as we approached the square we saw an orchestra in front of the Hotel. Honestly an orchestra playing one of my most favourite pieces! It was so cool.

However there was one minor issue for us with it. We had a bag full of glass bottles, ready to go into glass bottle disposal container……………………right behind the orchestra’s double bass. Somehow we did not think it good timing to put glass into the very metal container. So we decided to walk to the next one which is a fair bit out of the way, but we just did not want to interrupt this so happy piece of music.

We went round the city to get all our stuff and on the return trip I managed to catch then end part of the piece of music. It was fun, and parents and kids standing there for a piece of music which is so much more than just music, or a story, or a teaching aid. It is fun and beautiful. When home I selected another favourite Grieg‘s Peer Gynt and it is playing now.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Music on the square

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    How wonderful to have such beautiful music on your doorstep l and how respectful of you to walk to the next recycling point so as not to disturb. 😉

    • Gilraen says:

      It just would have felt so wrong to take the enjoyment of the music away from all these people, only so we could get rid of the rubbish. Thankfully it was a beautiful day so it was no punishment to go for a longer walk 🙂

  2. draliman says:

    Years ago when I lived in Stuttgart I loved the street music, and I miss it – it doesn’t really happen in Cornwall unless there’s something special on.
    I have to admit I’m not generally a fan of “classical” music but I love Peer Gynt!

    • Gilraen says:

      Just as with pop music there are so many different flavours of classical music. In all styles of music there are nuggets of good stuff.
      But apart from that seeing a full orchestra on the square does make it more special.

Leave a Reply

