Welcome to nettleland

This Sunday we had to try out my new Garmin Oregon, plus we wanted to go outside. At the weather prediction was that there would be thunderstorms later in the afternoon we decided not to venture far and SO preferred to run instead of skietsen.

Getting dressed I decided to match the short sleeved shirt my long yoga pants. After all the temperatures were not that high. However as we started our journey we realised we had overlooked the mugginess factor by about 100%. SO was sweating profusely and I was thinking I should have worn shorts instead. My new gadget was doing really well and I noticed how easy it was to switch screens. Played with the gadget a bit as we did not have a huge speed. Along the way we noted that we were not the only people there.  There were lots of cyclists and people walking around.

Specifically funny were a bunch of children that were taught how to cycle. A little boy about 4 years of age was crying his eyes out. Well you know the crying of I-should-be-crying-but-really-I-don’t-have-real-pain-and-there-are-no-tears-but-I-am-making-lots-of-noise. This poor little boy seeming had fallen off this bike and his father had made him jump right back on. Then the bridge was a bit much for him and dad helped him up, but down was his own scary task. Volume went up of course, but he did well. Dad did not let him off the hook and we heard him for another few hundred meters. Poor little boy, but as of today he will be able to cycle the bridges too. Then there was the wee girl (about 3 I think ) that most certainly is going to win the “Tour de France” at some stage. She was giving her father a real workout with him running after her and her bicycle. Still these things do bring a smile to my face as they show parental involvement, kids learning and overcoming fear for something very new. Getting to a new level of achievement these kids.

As SO was sweating so much he asked for some water to drink. I always carry a bottle of water, so I handed it to him. I could see he needed the water. Then there is the handing back manoeuvre. It sort of goes; getting in front – slowing down grabbing bottle while looking at him and then turning back to the front to see what is going on there, while keeping the steering straight. Then speed up. This time the order of things was, well a bit off. Not so much the first part, but the steering straight was not happening and all of a sudden I saw the nettles and the edge of the canal pretty much under my front wheel. In a split second I had to decide, nettles or canal. With some unexpected clarity and time slowing down I chose the nettles. My speed was so slow that I did not fall hard at all and basically the nettles were only over my legs, where I had my long yoga pants, and not my shorts. SO of course saw this and was like trying to help me up, concerned that I might be in the middle of nettleland. All I had to do was ask him to take my bike off my heel as that was something I could not do with two hand firmly placed in on the path right next to the nearest nettle. All of a sudden I was happy that I was not wearing the shorts! As I got up we checked everything on the bike. Nothing had moved there, the Oregon was still firmly placed on my bike, my bike was fine, I was fine; all was well.

Nettle

Nettle (Photo credit: James Bowe)

The only thing is that  my reputation was a bit dented, but SO and I promised each other we would not tell anybody, so nobody will be any the wiser ;-).

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Sports, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to nettleland

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Ouch. I would have probably did what you did and not tell anybody:wink: Glad you did though!

    • Gilraen says:

      It was one of those things where you think, this could have happened to many of us. And chances are it did but just did not tell 🙂

  2. miekje says:

    Blush… I managed to end up in the canal once while cycling back home from school. It was a narrow road and a very windy day and I was always so tired after school. We cycled 12 km each way! I couldn’t do that now…

    • Gilraen says:

      Knowing your mum she was most likely not impressed, but also worried sick when you got home dripping wet.
      Glad you got out safe though and let’s face it, a funny story to tell years later 🙂

Leave a Reply

