Hard life

When walking home from the station today I heard this dog yelp and scream as only a dog in total despair can scream. This dog was in need to some serious rescue anybody with an ear could hear that.

As I walking toward where this miserable noise came from I focused my ears more and started looking around. Ready to give whoever who was doing this a piece of my mind. But I saw no dog in need of my help. All I saw was this large pup (I think Dobermann) being walked by a friendly young man. Yet at the same time it seemed that this was the pup yelping as if somebody was trying to rip its paws off. I was confused.

As I was approaching some more the picture became more clear. The wee pup was screaming its cute little head off every time it felt its collar around its neck even the tiniest bit. And given its curiosity this happened about every step. Not only that but how cruel he had to walk on a leash too! Another yelp and help scream. As I drew closer the picture became funnier and funnier. The poor owner was ever so gentle with the pup and had the patience of a saint stopping every second, not yet leading the dog but following him on the leash and the pup made clear he was not amused at all.

The pup really made a huge fuss about it all. I mean huge. People from all sides were looking around to see the poor abused animal they heard. A young woman on the street took her earphones out trying to find out where the noise came from and saw me laughing out loud. I explained the situation to her. “Nothing to worry about, just a pup not impressed by the invention on a leash”. I heard the pup for another two blocks and I do feel sorry for the owner. He got some really confused stares, but I think both pup and owner will get past this experience and bond like a good dog and their master should.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hard life

  1. Pingback: Can I Walk My Dogs Again? « A Road to Leadership

  2. Silly puppy! I’ve owned dogs my whole life and they still surprise me with how over-reactive they can be!

Leave a Reply

