I am not the only one.

All people have weather patterns they like and dislike for many many reason. Some have a purely dislike tone. People that don’t like storms or cold or like me hot summer weather. These are just dislikes but for some people it is not a dislike it is a real thing (seasonal effective disorder). I know in my circle of friends how bad this is, and I am in no way comparing the moaning in my blog to what I know is a serious condition. But having said that I am getting this off my chest

See I came across this article in the Guardian and I so felt in tune with this writer. Of all seasons I have a real dislike of summer. Well not so much summer itself, but with the weather patterns associated with summer. Hot weather, worsened by high humidity and topped by pollen. It is then that I feel my skin crawl with the intense sun rays. I feel sweat running over my back forming a little river. I feel my throat clogging up with allergies and my chest collapsing.  My eyes need to squint continuously and hurt from the allergies.

I’d rather be cold than this hot. When I am cold I get another sweater, socks or a hot water bottle There are easy ways to deal with it and to warm up. Even with my rather off balance inner thermosystem I prefer cold to hot.

I cannot cope with that high sunshine intensity and heat. I cannot sleep and I cannot be awake. I can not be active as the sweat pores out immediately. All I can do is hide away from the sun until its brutal beatings stop for a little. I can cope with the evenings and the mornings on such days, but not the day itself. And at present I am being reminded of this resentment as all of a sudden it is summer, it is stinking hot and there is not a cloud in the sky for some much longed for rain, preferably with some wonderful thunder and lightning.

I love the changes of seasons. I adore winter and its peaceful emptiness. I love spring bursting with life and life reappearing. I love autumn when leaves are turning red and yellow. Winds can blow and life is fun. Summer reminds me of a full fat pig. Fully eating burping and bathing just getting fatter. It reminds of the self made millionaire who thinks they are grander than life and needs to be admired without doing anything new. Summer is just not my thing.

Sure it is not a case of me feeling sorry for myself. I continue living and drinking waters as if it is going out of style, but it is not comfortable and I am sitting here hoping that temperatures will come down again. The article just showed me that I am not alone and that feels awesome. It is not often that I say it but I will today;

I don’t like summer and I am longing for autumn.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I am not the only one.

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’m totally with you…. just poles apart. At the first sign of winter (a frost early May for christsake!) I booked us for a holiday to Vanuatu (on an island north of Port Vila – to make sure) and I am soooo looking forward to it!

    • Gilraen says:

      It never amazes me how people have such different views on what is nice weather and comfortable. It makes that the weather always remains a great topic for conversation and people can never fully agree 😉
      Really not having a real winter up in the Auckland region (no that one night frost does not count) was another notch on the leave my decision list.

  2. draliman says:

    I’m with you on this one. When it’s cold you can wrap up warm and then it’s lovely when you get home and it’s all snug. When it’s hot you’re too hot at work, then you traipse around outside getting hotter and when you finally get home it’s too hot there too!
    And it doesn’t even ever get that hot in Cornwall.

    • Gilraen says:

      I so recognize what you are saying. I guess we cold types are just full with northern European genes. It is strange though how people are different in this respect.

  3. Pingback: Reminder | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

