June, a busy month starts

Some months you know beforehand are going to be busy. For me that is June this year. June is full of work (two international meetings) and fun (two weddings), craft (two dresses for said weddings), organising  and attending a party for the bride in wedding #2 and some fringe items. With that schedule in mind I am looking forward to July 🙂

June started off weird with a power outage at work which gave me a few extra hours at home. No power, no computer, no work. Sadly that is how it often works these days and my work is the same. But making good use of it I did some shopping and decided to do something daring. The evening I was all on my ownsome as SO was on a stag night for the groom of wedding #1.

So, what did I do with this night? Well, I finished my dress for wedding#1 and managed to have a good go into dress for wedding #2. I’d started on the latter one a week or 3 ago in my sewing class, not because it was difficult, but because I was running out of time fast. The second one should be finished this weekend too. I also ventured into the food experimentation corner and made paneer cheese.

Cheese making is a little miracle in foodcrafting I think. A long long time ago, back in the 20th century, when I was a young food technologist, I worked for a dairy company. The company made cheese, soft cheeses. Learning to really understand the process is still something I cherish. Paneer is an Indian dairy product and IMO technically not cheese as it is not fermented (as always definitions vary, but I am sticking to cheese = fermented dairy product). Easily made with just milk and lemon juice and a bit of patience. It did not take long, but I am proud as anything. The first cheese production I was part of since 2001, which was when I left the dairy company.

The rest of the evening was sewing – finishing dresses neatly is a lot of handwork and as a result time consuming. But I have learned that it is worth the effort to really finish something which already has taken so much time. I won’t show the dress here until after the wedding!

By eleven I went to bed, still not a beep from SO. He arrived home somewhere between 3 and 4 this morning. It had not been that bad, but as it was in Amsterdam it had been the return trip which had been fraught with difficulty. I am not 100% sure on the full story but he muttered something about Amsterdammers being rude and of being glad that he did not live there.  For some reason connected to the previous statement, SO and a friend had missed the (hourly) night train. As said I am not clear on the full story but I do recall grinning while almost being asleep. SO then found that there were works on the rail tracks and he’d had to take a taxi for the last leg of about 25km. He was dog tired and is now still asleep. So I am heading back to sewing today, because I can. SO, I think, will not be awake until midday and will need to recuperate the rest of the day.

Oh and heads up; my international meetings are in the coming two weeks. So I may not be around much. But then again maybe I will 🙂 Just depends on how much time I have and to see if I want to write. At least everybody is aware.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Food, Home life, Sewing, Wedding, Weekend, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

