Head above water?

Intense two weeks kept me away from my blog. Two business trips and a wedding. As mentioned previously June is a very busy month. And with everything around it and having been way too busy anyway I hoped that I could avoid collapsing until July. Turns out I could not.

Last Sunday I went on my second trip with a throat already a bit sore. Warning bells alright. I had my most dreaded meeting on Monday but it turned out to be a breeze instead of difficult. My project was approved with compliments. Right there and then the stress and adrenaline stepped back – too early, way too early I was needing those two for survival! The cold virus ceased it chance with a vengance.

The rest of the week I managed to sort of keep going using strong medication while a bad cold started raging in my body. My room was not too much of a refuge in the evening as I suspect my allergy kicked in too. Plus the local smog and high humidity was affecting me too until is started raining not good for me. So I missed out on most of the fun that comes with these international meetings instead staying in bed trying to keep it together. I still attended most of my meetings.

On Saturday evening I returned. Had to change trains unexpectedly as our train had a defect. Things were well taken care of and our delay was just 15 min. SO picked me up from the station and made me dinner, put me into a essential oil (eucalyptus/peppermint/bergamot) bath which opened the nose a bit. I slept better than I had most of the week and still it was not crash hot. Still going through disposable handkerchiefs at an alarming rate. My head is pounding and I have given in to the need of paracetamol

So today I am not going to do much. Lie on the couch and feel sorry for myself. So promised to get me some goodies from the pharmacy and tomorrow I am calling in sick as concentration span is under 10 minutes. Not a happy way to return. Still I am glad I am back home with SO, knowing I can drop the keeping strong thing and in my own bed. Now let’s see if I can beat this thing. I am sure I can, just not sure when.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Home life, Pampering, Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Head above water?

  1. thesweetkitten says:

    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Pingback: 2012 in numbers | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

