Nasty surprise

It was yoga day. A day I leave work early so that I can make it to class. However this time fate had decided otherwise.

I took my bike out of the rack and I felt it immediately. My front tyre was flat, really flat. Drats!To make matters worse I was wearing a skirt and (not very high but still) heels and barefooted. Not your average long walking attire. Co-workers helpfully tried to give me advice, but really at that stage everything is raging in my mind and at the forefront was, “I am not going to make it to class” The rest at that moment was not important.

I decided to the nearest cyclingshop I was aware of, still a 25 minute walk. But a co-worker told me about one nearer. As it happens this one is closer at 15 minutes, but also not on the way home. So if I would have to walk the next day I’d have to take the long way. So in the end having seen where this shop is I decided to bite the bullet and walk to my better known one. Walking there my feet started to hurt. Walking with a bike with flat tyre was not helping and my mood was dropping with every step.

I had to walk briskly to ensure I would get to the store before closing time, which I thankfully did. No problem with the repair and yes they had a loan bike. Oh bliss! Not a fancy bike but at least I did not have to walk any further. When I got home I kicked off my shoes and inspected my feet. No blisters and no blood, but a lot of skin lesions and very red toes. I collapsed on the couch and did not move until SO arrived home. No I did not make it to yoga, it was close in time and my feet simply hurt too much.

Today I picked up my own bike again. Let’s hope this does not happen again in the near future 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

