Happy Friday

The Last of the Mohicans (1992 film)

The Last of the Mohicans (1992 film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For a lot of people in the Netherlands Friday is no longer a work day. Or if it is then often alternating Fridays. It is something, coming back from NZ never ceases to amaze me; the Friday shift from workday to a weekend day.

Same in my office, usually there are only 4 of us in the office out of a team of 12 on any given Friday. After the holidays there will be two as schedules change. Me and a part timer who arrives well after me and leaves well before me. Me being the last of the Mohicans will be there alone for the rest of the day. Or should I call myself a fossil instead?

I admit it feels weird being one of the last to really work full-time in the office. Seriously in my office it is a totally dying breed. Oh yes I too have been tempted on occasion to change my work pattern but as it is I am actually quite happy. A Friday off occasionally is fine. Other than that a Friday because there is nobody there is a really good day to bury yourself deep in a project that needs a lot of concentration. Nobody there to disturb you. I love that part of it.

At present the holidays have started as well and it is worse than ever. Getting to work it was as if I was moving through a ghost town. So peaceful and undisturbed. Normally only have that when it is terribly cold and dark, mid winter. That same undisturbed feeling that I have then I had now. Even at work this feeling continued as there were just a handful of people in the building. Parts of the building regularly are dark as there is no movement (all lights are motion detection) and I am getting huge and I mean huge amounts of work done. In fact by the end of today I ran out of work. So I went through old paperwork, scanning, reading and sorting. I had a great day.

A great day helped by finally again a nice weather day. A bit of sun, nice (not hot) temperatures and walking to and from work. It felt good to be walking the distance again. It cheers me up and seeing things makes me happy. Next week though will be different, not much walking then. I will be traveling again for work. Looking forward to that too. It will be an adventure.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Weekend, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Friday

  1. Interesting how the work world is changing … there are so many home offices or different workspaces now. Some people can do their whole job just from coffee shops!

    • Gilraen says:

      I know, it makes the world a different place and it is weird sometimes. I mean a few weeks back I was at a meeting in Paris and through the computer I had my office on standby to brief me on a difficult subject. Still face to face meetings are still very very useful.
      Working form a coffeeshop on occasion is fun! I will be working from the airport from most of today 🙂

Leave a Reply

