Wonderful time

Every four two years I pretend that I am not interested in the Olympics and every four two years I get caught up in that celebration of sports, loving to learn about new sports.  Obviously this goes for both summer and winter olympics.

This time the addiction is fed even more than before; the difference is called social media. I have the radio on at work,  liveblogs running and of course twitter. At home the radio is replaced by either TV on computer (spoiled for choice with UK, Belgian, German and Dutch channels) or livestreams. On twitter I followed #nbcfail for a while, which was absolutely hilarious to read.

It started for me with the repeat of the opening ceremony. The original I missed due to jetlag of course. I have to say I was totally impressed. I loved what I saw. The Bond/Queen sequence was so much fun. Never thought she’d be up for something like that. Mr Bean funny, but that is to be expected, whereas the queen, well she was indeed special 🙂 I loved what they did with the flame. New athletes instead of old ones. and bringing flames together. Yep I think it was the best yet.

My allegiance is on occasion divided and I had a real identity crisis in mens hockey when NL played NZ. I had to switch off the radio as I wanted both to win! Thankfully both countries tend to have different strengths so the allegiance problem is only minor.

And today is not different. We “saw” so many events, switching as we saw fit. In the mean time we are cooking for friends that are coming over tonight and I am also reading the newspaper on line. What a wonderful time this is to be able to mix and match so many things and still feel totally relaxed. I am totally going with the hype flow and loving it.
Social Media have sure changed the face of the olympics and in my opinion a wonderful change.

So far well done London and BBC!

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Friends, Home life, Sports, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wonderful time

  1. draliman says:

    I must admit I’m not a big sports fan but I couldn’t resist following Jessica Ennis in the Heptathlon – I even stayed tuned to watch her get her medal! It is really easy now to keep up with developments, even when we’re at work, with all the alternatives open to us.

Leave a Reply

