New flavours

Yesterday I mentioned that we were preparing dinner for friends. That is friends with kids. That means that ice-cream is a must for dessert. Not so much for the kids, more because SO loves making it :-).

Anyway, the other day SO found the Elvis ice-cream recipe. Elvis was known to have a favourite breakfast which included banana and peanutbutter sandwiches. Tough choloclate was in there somewhere. This recipe of ice-cream was inspired by that.

SO over the week prepared: peanut ice-cream (with home roasted peanut), banana sorbet  and chocolate ice-cream. All I can say is that these flavours were magnificent. They blended very well together. SO ever well prepared made a double dose of the chocolate just in case I needed some at some stage in my near future. Though the peanut was the one that lingered in my mind most.

I made some oven-baked Camembert. So easy!

  • Take Camembert out of paper, with out without box, carve top only
  • Spinkle something on top of cheese (honey, maple syrup, calvados, golden syrup, rosemary, garlic etc etc)
  • put in pre-heated oven (200°C) for 15-20 minutes
  • serve with bread or fries.

This time I used maple syrup. Instant form of cheese fondue and really really nice. It fills! and that is at warning. But if you have little time and don’t feel like cooking it is actually a really nice thing to have.  I served it with dried apricots that had been soaked in applejuice/water/elderberryflower syrup. After two hours the liquid was reduced with a cinnomon stick and cloves. Once reduced and cooled I added maple syrup (can also be honey)

Our friends were impressed, the kids Well they like the wafer we served with the ice-cream, the bread and the fries (thank heaven for apple sauce)  The ice-cream was OKish but not what they were used to. Oh well, their loss.

Today we are relaxing in a good way – watching the marathon and then we are off for a run/bike session ourselves. Just two more weeks to go and then we are off on our holiday. We are so looking forward to that!

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Friends, Home life, Pampering, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New flavours

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    The food sounds wonderful. I’ve never made ice cream but may give this a go. I haven’t done this with Camembert for such a long time. Thank you for reminding me. I have to say though I’ve never thought of sprinkling something on top – will definitely try this – thank you!

    • Gilraen says:

      You are welcome. The Camembert is so easy that I intend to use it more often when SO is away on business. It is ever so nice to eat.

Leave a Reply

