Too early

It has been a while since I posted. The reason is simple, the feeling of not having any time. I admit immediately that this was a feeling. My time was just as available to me as other weeks. I just felt cramped for that time.

The reason was simple. Today we started our holidays. The weeks before the holidays feel worse and more full than others. I call it the almost there stress. It feels as if time compresses and all of a sudden, a little too early the real feeling of tiredness sets in. That is what happened to me. Evening where I am usually reasonably active become blob out time. Stuff becomes too much and all I wanted was early nights and sleep in. As said a little too early. And really that is all that is to it.

Does this mean we had nothing going on? Heavens no. Our ever busy lives continued, accompanied by hot sticky yuk weather. Several days I came home soaked in sweat after the walk, needing a cold cold shower and dumping my clothes quickly in the laundry basket. Works as per usual on these days, fries my brain even more than the holiday stress, headaches follow.

We’ve been out to dinner with the in-laws. We’d promised to take them to a nice restaurant once FIL was recovered from his February operation and March ordeal. As one can imagine with these things time is needed to heal. Once he was strong enough I was in my work travel schedule so we did not have much time. On the 11th we finally managed to get together. We went to a fish restaurant not far from where we live. It was a great evening with ever so nice food.

The same weekend we lost the remote control to our bedroom TV. Modern TVs are hard to control without remote so we were a little in limbo. We could not find it. Not even in between the mattresses of our bed, where we usually loose it. We searched everywhere, I mean everywhere. The laundry basket, even in the washing machine as well we’d just changed the bed, maybe I’d washed it.  We even ended up in the wardrobes.  Nothing. We resigned ourselves to having to buy a new one and fiddling with the TV. SO glanced over and all of a sudden noticed the remote on my bedside table. Uuuuuhm right. In my defense it looks remarkable similar to my alarmclock in the same colours etc. It was totally in camouflage and was hiding right next to it!!!!!. After some huge laughter we decided it needed a proper spot and we decided where it should go.

Anyway that is the extend of our pre-holiday adventures and for now the update. Possibly some more news later this weekend

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Family, Food, Holiday, Home life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Too early

  1. draliman says:

    Whenever I lose something it’s always right there in plain sight. Except when I look in plain sight, then it’s nowhere to be found.
    One of life’s little truisms for you there.

Leave a Reply

