Trossachs

An reasonably early start for us considering it is a holiday. We had breakfast at 8.30. Again with Haggis, very much a healthy hearty start of the day. We had decided to go to the Trossachs, a national park, part of the south side of the highlands. We had picked a geocache to walk.

Our first stop was the supermarket or rather the M&S foodhalls. We stopped there for fruit and water and another coffee. From there we went to Callander and turned into the road entering the Trassochs. We stopped at the parking area of Ben A’n and off we went. It wasn’t far. About a mile and a half and we can do that, surely. Instantly I had to learn new things about my Oregon and how to program it. But we mastered it, but there is nothing like havign to to learn a new skill fast.

As we walked up the path we noted that it was quite rocky and that the very recent rain (within the last hour) had caused a very muddy trail. We were not the only people walking it, but being Dutch the steepness was a bit of a challenge. At one point we had to decide left or right and well the Oregon wanted left so we went left and up, and up and then up. Whilst doing this the path really was little more than a trail where we had to channel our inner goat in order to climb it.

In a strange way it is actually fun to do this. It was  hard work and I had trouble as my glasses kept fogging up due to the general dampness. Thankfully the New Zealand Bandana was part of my equipment and it stopped the sweat dripping onto my eyes. After not too long we ended up on a ridge and tried to find the cache. Weird things happened and when we checked the coordinates we found that my knowledge of my Oregon was less than anticipated. I had pushed the wrong button and the Oregon was poiting to the area where we were standing. Not good. We reprogrammed the Oregon and off we went again. Through the mud, over rocks and yes up and up.

Both SO and I were finding it hard going, but rewarding and when we got to the point where we thought we were close to the cache area. Views of Loch Katrine were getting to grandiose. We loved it! Well up we went again. And then the area opened up we saw the last 300 m rising above us. Those were way too steep for me! I declined going further, but SO wanted to give it a go and set off. I sat down with another lady that was waiting for her family too.

SO returned before her family did. He’d made it another 100m up and had decided that he’d have to channel his inner ape and decided that he did not want to do that. According to him he got to the point where he needed to use both hands and feet and enough was enough, he turned around.

So there were were up the hill needing to go down and that was a bit of a slippery mission but we managed. We arrived back at the car feeling our leg muscles and feeling smug, but also a little disappointed that we had not made it. This was about 3 hours after we’d set off so we did take our time on the walk.

We then made our way back to Callander via Aberfoyle. In Callander we had fish and chips well deserved. As we were tired we went to our B&B from there and here we are now.
Tomorrow we are heading to Fort William.

Harry Potter moment: We found a place called Dobbies Garden World

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Holiday, Home life, Sports, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trossachs

  1. Pingback: An overview of our holiday | Gilraensblog

  2. miekje says:

    Dobbies is a chain of garden centres here. I did chuckle at the name when I first heard it.

Leave a Reply

