We travel south

A travel day. A day where we can keep away from the midgies, Seriously those nasty stingy beasties are my one and only complaint about Scotland. They seem to like me. I have a nice necklace of midgie bites around my neck, several on my arms and some on my legs. The worst ones are on my face. They are ever so annoying. But today we were off for a long drive. We decided to go to Perth and take the long way there.

For some odd reason we ended up not driving the A96 all the way. We took, by following the satnav instructions, a more pretty road following the outlines of the Cairngorms another national park here. Though highland it is mostly rolling hillside that is at a height, at least at this end of the national park. SO and I were commenting how much the landscape reminded us of the Waikato in New Zealand, except that the light was different. But seeing this place, it is not surprising that the Scots found Dunedin a nice place to be. Of course on closer inspection there are many more differences but you sort of can see that they are very alike.

We had a stop for coffee in Aberlour and wanted to go on the distillery tour there. However they only have two a day and we could not wait for the afternoon one, two hours later. We sitll had a long way to go. Our lunch stop was in Aberdeen. Late lunch I may add. Aberdeen to be honest is the only place so far where we say ticked the box and never needing to return. Sure the Art Gallery was interesting but somehow the city and us were not gelling. It is has a rough edge to it and though they try to make it better with flower gardens it is a concrete town with the odd nice building and a busstation over het main shopping street. So after coffee we moved on.

The way to Perth from here is dual carriage way, with people having to turn on and off the road directly I have seen this before and recall the irritation in having to move onto SH1 at Ohinawai in New Zealand and it is no fun. Also it is quite amazing to drive at nearly 110km/h and then to encounter a tractor with hay on the road. Weird to say the least.

When we arrived in Perth we first had dinner in a pub and then went to our B&B. What a great place. Certainly amongst the better ones we have had. Large room and very nicely decorated. Yes we’ll be fine here the next few night. Just six more nights to go. Our countdown has started. I really don’t want to go home yet.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Holiday, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We travel south

  1. Pingback: An overview of our holiday | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

